Show/hide main menu

Ivan Juritz Prize

2015 Competition Winners

Ivan Juritz Prize

The 2015 competition was won by Martin Scheuregger. The 2015 judging panel comprised Lisa Appignanesi, Michael Berkeley, Rachel Cusk, Juliet Gardiner, Jeremy Harding, Deborah Levy, Stephen Romer and Fiona Shaw.

Martin Scheuregger’s ‘In that Solitude’ is a composition for violin and piano, which arrestingly explores the traditionally modernist notion of the fragment to create a new musical language. Listen to 'In that Solitude' or read the description.

Runners up:
Fran Allfrey and Fran Brooks’s ‘A Gift for the Illuminated Sphere’ is a curated book that beautifully juxtaposes medieval and modernist art to teach us to look in new ways. View the book and read the description.
Eleanor Chandler and Zoe Kingsley’s ‘Notes on Cling Film Part 1’ is a sound poem that lyrically and radically appropriates various modernist texts and replaces certain words with the cipher ‘cling film’. Listen to 'Notes on Cling Film Part 1' or read the description.

Please click on the titles to view the three entries. The winning entries will be published in Textual Practice in January 2016.

See here for this issue of Textual Practice.

Modernism in 1915 and 2015 – The Guardian books podcast

How do the masterpieces of modernism still inspire us in the 21st century? 
Robert McCrum, author of The Guardian's long-running series on the 100 best novels, talks about the cluster of great works published in 1915 and Lara Feigel explains why she has set up a prize, Responses to Modernism, now in its second year.

Sitemap Site help Terms and conditions Privacy policy Accessibility Modern slavery statement Contact us

© 2017 King's College London | Strand | London WC2R 2LS | England | United Kingdom | Tel +44 (0)20 7836 5454