Show/hide main menu

Ivan Juritz Prize

2016 Competition Winners

Ivan Juritz Prize

We are very pleased to announce that Jocelyn Campbell has won this year’s Competition for Creative Responses to Modernism.

This year’s judging panel comprised Lisa Appignanesi, Michael Berkeley, Rachel Cusk, Dexter Dalwood, Jeremy Harding, Deborah Levy and Stephen Romer.

Jocelyn Campbell’s ‘rgn.1 | ‘nt’rl’d’ | rgn.2’ is a composition for piano that experiments inventively and beautifully with systems of musical invention in an attempt to straddle an ambiguous line between ‘modernist’ stylistic traits (its emphasis on formal construction and an abstract, non-teleological musical language) and ‘postmodern’ imitation. You can read the description here and see the piece performed at the Prize Giving below: 


Jocelyn Campbell (born 1990) is a London based composer who is currently studying at King’s College London for a PhD. in composition under the supervision of George Benjamin. Jocelyn had previously studied with Silvina Milstien at King’s for a Master’s of Music, and completed a BA in music at Middlesex University under Brian Inglis, François Evans and Peter Fribbins. Ensembles who have played works by Jocelyn include: The Royal Northern Sinfonia, the Lontano Ensemble, the Allegri String Quartet, the Finale Orchestra, the Solarek Piano Trio, Newe Vialles, and Ensemble X.Y., among others.

Runners up:

Ziad Nagy’s ‘What Lies Beneath’ is a short animated film that plays with surface and depth and with the relationship between technology and the uncanny in a humorous and original way.

Cecilia Stinton’s Der Gelbe Klang is a collaborative production that creatively and professionally juxtaposes Kandinsky’s colour opera Der Gelbe Klang (1909) with a performance of Franz Schreker’s Kammersymphonie (1916) and Lewis Coenen-Rowe’s new work, A Cosmic Joke (2014). Through innovative puppetry and lighting design Stinton and her team revisited Kandinsky’s classic modernist work from a twenty-first century perspective. Stinton discusses the production in 'Performing Colour and Staging Sound: Revisiting Kandinsky's Multimedia Project' 

All three winning entries will be published in Textual Practice in January 2017.

We are also delighted to announce that next year’s prize will be a collaboration with Scotland’s artists’ residency Cove Park. The winner will receive a week’s residency and a cash prize of £1000. The prize will be open to entrants from throughout the EU from October 2016, with a deadline of March 2017. Please revisit this page in October for more details.

Sitemap Site help Terms and conditions Privacy policy Accessibility Modern slavery statement Contact us

© 2017 King's College London | Strand | London WC2R 2LS | England | United Kingdom | Tel +44 (0)20 7836 5454