Show/hide main menu

Women in Science

Athena SWAN

The Athena SWAN charter was launched in 2005 to recognise the commitment of institutions that promote and advance the careers of women in science, technology, engineering, mathematics and medicine (STEMM) in academia.


Silver Athena SWAN

We are delighted to report that the Dental Institute has obtained a Silver award in recognition of its commitment and work.

Read the news story.



Further information on the Athena SWAN Charter

Dental Institute Self Assessment Team (SAT)

The principal responsibility of the Dental Institute Self Assessment Team has been to guide the Institute in its preparation and submission of an Athena SWAN Silver award application.

The SAT has a diverse membership of male and female academics, research and professional services staff. The group discusses, implements, promotes and monitors faculty-level objectives and strategies aimed at improving the working environment for women academics.



Members of the Self Assessment Team (SAT)
Dr Blanaid Daly

Clinical Senior Lecturer

Dr Rupert Austin| Clinical Lecturer
Professor Abigail Tucker  Professor in Craniofacial Development
Dr Victoria Boyes Research Associate
Dr Guy Carpenter| Reader in Oral Biology
Dr Richard Cook| Senior Lecturer
Dr Trevor Coward| Reader in Maxillofacial and Craniofacial Rehabilitation
Ms Diane Brook| Co-oordinator
Dr Sanjukta Deb| Reader in Biomaterials Science
Professor Lucy Di-Silvio Divisional Director: Tissue Engineering and Biophotonics
Professor Michael Fenlon| Professor of Prosthodontics
Professor Jenny Gallagher Divisional Director, Population & Patient Health
Dr Ellie Heidari Senior Clinical Teacher
Dr Jonathon Turner Senior Clinical Teacher
Dr Saoirse O'Toole Postgraduate student representative
Professor Nigel Pitts Director, Centre for Dental Innovations & Translation
Professor Gordon Proctor Divisional Director, Mucosal & Salivary Biology
Professor Dianne Rekow| Executive Dean of the Dental Institute
Professor Paul Sharpe Division Director, of Craniofacial Biology
Mr Jeremy Williams Director of Administration
Professor Mark Woolford| Associate Dean of Education
Dr Sasha Scambler  Senior Lecturer in Sociology
Dr Suzanne Scott  Lecturer in Health Psychology (Deputy Chair)
Miss Tracy Yu  Postgraduate Student Representative
Ms Oonagh O’sullivan  Undergraduate Student Representative
Sitemap Site help Terms and conditions Privacy policy Accessibility Modern slavery statement Contact us

© 2017 King's College London | Strand | London WC2R 2LS | England | United Kingdom | Tel +44 (0)20 7836 5454