Show/hide main menu

Make-Do-Play

Make Do Play: Wellbeing Through Creativity

MadeDoplaynologo

In March 2018 King’s launched ‘Make Do Play’, a cross-university challenge to explore how creative activity can enhance mental wellbeing.

To put the growing body of research on arts, health and wellbeing into practice King’s hosted the ‘Make Do Play’ live experiment from 1 – 28 March 2018, inviting students to take part in daily creative challenges alongside artist-led practical sessions.

Featured guests:

  • SPECIAL GUEST - Gareth Malone, Community Singing
  • Angela Maddock, Craft Making
  • Rosa Roberts, Visual Artist
  • Jane Woolley, Rambert, Dancing

The ‘Make Do Play’ challenge culminated in a dance flash-mob on campus. Alongside the daily prompts, leading artists from the fields of singing, drawing, dancing and making ran drop-in sessions across King’s. These short, fun activities were carefully co-designed by King’s students to allow participants to try a creative activity in an enjoyable, relaxed environment.

As part of the Make Do Play community, participants were invited to reflect on their creative experiences using the campaign hashtag #MakeDoPlay. They were also asked to check in on your their mood during the campaign, helping them to discover how creativity can enhance everyday wellbeing and provide valuable insights on its impact.

To find out more follow @CulturalKings on  FacebookTwitter and  Instagram, signup for the campaign or email  makedoplay@kcl.ac.uk.

The Workshops:

 
 SINGINGCRAFT MAKING
DANCE
DRAWING
STRAND

Thursday 1 March

10:00-11:15*

The Chapel, Strand

 

Monday 26 March

14:00-17:00

Terrace Cafe

 DROP-IN

Tuesday 13 March

10:00-11:00*

Anatomy Museum

 

Wednesday 21 March

14:00-17:00

Terrace Cafe

 DROP-IN

WATERLOO 

Thursday 22 March

12:15-13:30*

Bytes Restaurant, FWB

 

Monday 5 March

14:00-17:00

Conservatory, FWB

 DROP-IN

Tuesday 20 March

14:00-15:00*

Studio, Waterloo Gym

 

Wednesday 14 March

14:00-17:00

The Conservatory, FWB

 DROP-IN

GUYS

Thursday 15 March

12:15-13:30*

Activity Room 5, West Wing


Monday 12 March

14:00-17:00

Café, New Hunt House

 DROP-IN

Tuesday 27 March

15:00-16:00

Activity Room 1, West Wing

 

Wednesday 7 March

14:00–17:00

Café, New Hunt’s House

 DROP-IN

DENMARK HILL

Thursday 8 March

12:15–13:30*

Gainsford Lecture Theatre, WEC

 

Monday 19 March

14:00-17:00

IOPPN café, Main Building

 DROP-IN

Friday 9 March

10:00-11:00*

The Gym, WEC

 

Friday 23 March

14:00-17:00

IOPPN Café, Main Building

 DROP-IN

 

Find out more:

PUF KINGS WELLBEING
MDP-Research
MDP-workshops
Sitemap Site help Terms and conditions  Privacy policy  Accessibility  Modern slavery statement  Contact us

© 2018 King's College London | Strand | London WC2R 2LS | England | United Kingdom | Tel +44 (0)20 7836 5454