Show/hide main menu

About us

Who should I contact?

Departmental office

Professional Services staff will be your first point of contact for any queries relating to your programme or assessment. They look after everything from student queries to administration of exam boards, as well as departmental events and communication.

The departmental office Professional Services team is located on the third floor of the Virginia Woolf Building.  The team can be reached by emailing or calling 020 7848 7080 / 2073. Office opening hours are available on the Department website, where you will also find a map showing the location of the Virginia Woolf Building.

Academic contacts

Your main contact in the Department will always be your personal tutor.

The Theology & Religious Studies Department has around 25 permanent members of academic staff as well as Graduate Teaching Assistants and part-time staff. You can find all contact information for staff on the Department website

Aside from their teaching and research duties, many of the academic staff in the Department also provide a number of administrative support roles to our students.

Head of Department: Dr Marat Shterin

Deputy Head of Department: Dr Susannah Ticciati and Professor Edward Adams (Sem1)

Staff Administrative Roles 2018 - 19


Degree Convenors:

Undergraduate Senior Tutor: Dr Michael Ledger-Lomas; Dr Ed Epsen (Sem 1)

Undergraduate Assessment Sub-Board ChairDr Vittorio Montemaggi (from August 1, 2018)

Deputy Undergraduate Assessment Sub-Board ChairDr David Crankshaw; Dr Ed Epsen – Sem (2)



 Degree Convenors:

Postgraduate Taught Assessment Sub-Board Chair: Dr Chris Hamilton

Deputy Postgraduate Taught Assessment Sub-Board Chair: Dr Tony Milligan



Overall Student Recruitment Lead: Dr Daniel DeHanas

Undergraduate Admissions: Dr Daniel DeHanas

Graduate Diploma Admissions: TBC

Postgraduate Research Admissions: Dr Carool Kersten; Semester 2 - TBC

MA Religion Admissions: Dr Daniel DeHanas

MA Christianity and the Arts Admissions: Professor Ben Quash


Key Areas Leads and Officers: 

Education Lead: Dr Susannah Ticciati; Dr Kazuyo Murata (Sem1)

Deputy Education Lead: Dr Andrea Schatz (Sem 1)

REF Research & Impact Lead: Dr Katie Swancutt

Deputy REF Research Lead: Professor Paul Joyce (Lead in Sem 2)

Deputy REF Impact Lead: Professor Edward Adams (Lead in Sem 2)

Departmental Research Students Committee Chair: Dr Jonathan Stökl

Deputy Departmental Research Students Committee Chair:  TBC

Diversity and Inclusivity Lead: Professor Joan Taylor; Dr Kate Kirkpatrick (Semester 1)

External Relations Lead: Professor Kate Crosby

Deputy External Relations Lead (academic visitors): Dr Lydia Schumacher

Research Grant Officer: Dr Ioannis Papadogiannakis

Undergraduate Senior Tutor: Dr Michael Ledger-Lomas; Dr Ed Epsen (Sem 1)

Dissertations Co-ordinator: Dr Shanon Shah

Liaison and Advisor on Liberal Arts: Professor Ben Quash

Library and Technology-Enhanced Learning Representative: Dr Ioannis Papadogiannakis

Careers and Employability Liaison Representative: Dr Tony Milligan

Global Mobility (Study Abroad) Officer: Professor Markus Vinzent


Further information

Sitemap Site help Terms and conditions  Privacy policy  Accessibility  Modern slavery statement  Contact us

© 2019 King's College London | Strand | London WC2R 2LS | England | United Kingdom | Tel +44 (0)20 7836 5454