



FINAL REPORT

HERBERT SMITH FREEHILLS COMPETITION LAW MOOT 2023



Winning Team: Dr. Ram Manohar Lohiya National Law University, India







Oral Round

London, 16-17 June 2023

Organising Team

Professor Alison Jones Glyn Jones Shauna Creamer Barbara Norris Nomakhosi Ndebele Wajahat Jilani Davide Canzano Jaison K John Shuyi Hua (Elaine) Anurag Chajlani Eshaa Patel Jagriti Aggarwal

Judges

Anastasija Rogozianskaja

Annabel Fleming

Blanka Vitez

Camille Puech-Baron

Christon Shenolikar

Clémence Barraud

Deepaloke Chatterjee

Dima Talja

Dina Lurje

Dorothy Livingston*

Dr David Reader

Dr Megali Eben

Frances Barr

Jenny Patroclou

John McInnes*

Kevin Coates

Liana Sandulescu **Lucy Chambers**

Lydia Rachianioti

Phoebe Hirst

Marie Becker **Peter Alexiadis**

Legal Trainee, UK Competition and Markets Authority

Associate, Slaughter and May

Legal Advisor, UK Competition and Markets Authority

Of Counsel, Herbert Smith Freehills

Senior Associate. Herbert Smith Freehills

Senior Associate, Herbert Smith Freehills

Senior Associate, Clifford Chance

Associate. Addleshaw Goddard

Head of Legal, Nord Security

Consultant, Herbert Smith Freehills

Senior Lecturer in Competition Law, University of Glasgow

Lecturer, University of Glasgow

Procedural Officer, UK Competition and Markets Authority

Associate, Weil, Gotshal & Manges

Senior Legal Director, UK Competition and Markets Authority

Senior Of Counsel, Covington & Burling

Principal Case Officer, UK Competition and Markets Authority

Associate, Slaughter and May

Associate, Alston & Bird

Associate, Herbert Smith Freehills

Visiting Professor, King's College London

Associate, Herbert Smith Freehills





Professor Alison Jones*
Professor Eva Lomnicka
Professor James Lee

Professor, King's College London

Professor James Lee

Professor of English Law, King's College London

Raul Nieto Sean Giles Assistant Director, UK Competition and Markets Authority

Vice Dean and Professor of Law, King's College London

Shantanu Kafle

Associate, Herbert Smith Freehills

Sofia Platzer
Sophie Halls

Assistant Director, UK Competition and Markets Authority
Antitrust & Foreign Investment Managing Associate, Linklaters

s Associate, Clifford Chance

The Right Hon Lady Rose of Colmworth*

Justice of the UK Supreme Court

Todor Papanov

Senior Associate, Van Bael & Bellis

William Kovacic*

Professor at George Washington University and former FTC

Chairman

Problem question

Many thanks to **Professor Alison Jones, Dr Andriani Kalintiri** and **Dorothy Livingston** for preparing the problem question.

Participating teams

ORAL ROUND - QUALIFYING TEAMS

UNIVERSITY	COUNTRY	ALIAS
Dr. Ram Manohar Lohiya National Law University	India	Pikamäe
Eötvös Loránd University of Budapest, Hungary	Hungary	Rantos
King's College London	UK	Richard de la Tour
NALSAR University of Law	India	Wahl
National Law School of India University (NLSIU), Bengaluru	India	Kokott
National Law University, Odisha	India	Lycourgos
Singapore University of Social Sciences	Singapore	Prechal
Tamil Nadu National Law University	India	Csehi
The National University of Advanced Legal Studies (NUALS), Kochi	India	Kumin
The University of Hong Kong	Hong Kong	Pitruzzella

^{*} Judge in the Final Panel





University College LondonUKPiçarraUniversity of AmsterdamThe NetherlandsJürimäe

Written pleadings - 39 PARTICIPANTS:

25 teams from India;

4 teams from France:

3 teams from the United Kingdom; 2 teams from The Netherlands

1 team from Germany, Singapore, Hong Kong, Turkey and Hungary

Many thanks to Abhijeet Sinha, Alex Rickets, Ali MacGregor, Amabel Stokes, Ben Lyon, Christon Shenolikar, Dorothy Livingston, Helen Bignall, Marie Becker, Phoebe Hirst, Sean Giles and Tom Kemp from Herbert Smith Freehills;

Deepaloke Chatterjee from Clifford Chance and

Alexandru Dumitru, Bissera Gatcheva, Chinwe Ukanwa, Elle Burford, Nanret Senok, Rachel Davies, Serina Tan and Sil Van Kordelaar for their invaluable assistance in marking the written pleadings.

Written Round Ranking

- 1 University of Amsterdam
- 2 National Law University, Odisha
- 3 The University of Hong Kong
- 4 University College London
- 5 Tamil Nadu National Law University
- 6 National Law School of India University, Bengaluru
- 7 Eötvös Loránd University of Budapest, Hungary
- 8 NALSAR University of Law
- 9 King's College London
- 10 The National University of Advanced Legal Studies, Kochi
- 11 Dr. Ram Manohar Lohiya National Law University
- 12 Singapore University of Social Sciences



Oral Round Schedule & Outcomes

	Preliminary Round			
Group A	Jürimäe (C) - Csehi (D)	Csehi (C) - de la Tour (D)	de la Tour (C) - Jürimäe (D)	
Group B	Kokott (C) - Kumin (D)	Kumin (C) - Pitruzella (D)	Pitruzella (C) - Kokott (D)	
Group C	Lycourgos (C) - Rantos (D)	Rantos (C) - Pikamäe (D)	Pikamäe (C) - Lycourgos (D)	
Group D	Piçarra (C) - Wahl (D)	Wahl (C) - Prechal (D)	Prechal (C) - Piçarra (D)	

	Quarter-Finals		
QF1	Jürimäe (C) - Pitruzzella (D)	Semi-finals	
QF2	Kokott (C) - de la Tour (D)	Wahl (C) – Jürimäe (D)	Finals
QF3	Rantos (C) – Wahl (D)	Kokott (C) - Pikamae (D)	Jürimäe (C) - Pikamae (D)
QF4	Piçarra (C) - Pikamäe (D)		

(C) is for Claimant, (D) is for Defendant. The winning teams are in **bold**.

Awards

Winning Team

Dr. Ram Manohar Lohiya National Law University

Palak Jagetia, Swechchha Singh, Kavya Dwivedi, Malvika Pachauri

Runner-up Team

University of Amsterdam

Çagri Çavus, Sarah Joyce Omotolani Ezekiel, Cezary Michalski, Karolina Hwija

Best Written Pleadings

University of Amsterdam

Çagri Çavus, Sarah Joyce Omotolani Ezekiel, Cezary Michalski, Karolina Hwija

Best Advocate

Angus Shak Lam YU

The University of Hong Kong





The following participants were also commended for their excellent advocacy during the competition:

József Fábián (Eötvös Loránd University of Budapest, Hungary), Felix Williams (University College London), Shinjini Mitra (King's College London), Yan-Xi Loh (Hermes) (King's College London), Karolina Hwija (University of Amsterdam), Sarthak Virdi (National Law School of India University, Bengaluru) and Sarah Joyce Ezekiel (University of Amsterdam)

Congratulations!

Follow us & stay in touch on: Herbert Smith Freehills Competition Law Moot