



FINAL REPORT

HERBERT SMITH FREEHILLS COMPETITION LAW MOOT 2022



Winning Team: National University of Singapore



PARTNER OF THE COMPETITION



LLS



Oral Round

London, 17-18 June 2022

Organising Team

Jenny PatroclouExecutive Secretary of the Herbert Smith Freehills Competition Law MootDavide CanzanoAssistant Executive Secretary of the Herbert Smith Freehills Competition
Law MootDeni VitkovićConsultant of the Herbert Smith Freehills Competition Law MootAlison JonesProfessor at King's College LondonChelsey Liu
Conor Walsh
Firdaus Maalim
Katie Ting Hoi Mak
Priya Dhoot
Sanjana SethiStudent Ambassadors at King's College London

Judges

Alison Jones*	Vice Dean and Professor at King's College London		
Andrea Usai	Case Handler, DG Competition, Unit A.2., Mergers Case Support and Policy		
Dr Andriani Kalintiri	Lecturer in Competition Law, King's College London		
Dr Anja Naumann	Referendaire, Kammergericht Berlin		
Annagiulia Zanazzo	Senior Associate, Clifford Chance LLP		
Blanka Vitéz	Legal Adviser, UK Competition and Markets Authority		
Carlo Monegato	Case Officer, UK Competition and Markets Authority		
Christon Shenolikar	Senior Associate, Herbert Smith Freehills LLP		
Christopher Brown	Barrister, Matrix Chambers and Visiting Fellow, King's College London		
Damaris Kosack	Doctoral candidate and research assistant, University of Manheim		
Davide Canzano	Principal Case Officer, UK Competition and Markets Authority		
Deni Vitković	Trainee solicitor, UK Competition and Markets Authority		
Dina Lurje	Deputy Chairwoman, Lithuanian Competition Authority		
Dorothy Livingston*	Consultant, Competition, Regulation and Trade, Herbert Smith Freehills LLP		



RBERT

ĖHILLS



Frances Barr	Procedural Officer, UK Competition and Markets Authority			
Geraldine de	Associate, Skadden Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP			
Vasconcelos Lopes				
Gianpaolo Gangemi	Assistant Director, Litigation, UK Competition and Markets Authority			
Jessica Radke*	Senior Legal Director, Litigation, UK Competition and Markets Authority			
John McInnes*	* Senior Legal Director, Policy & International, UK Competition and Markets			
	Authority			
Kevin Coates	Partner, Covington & Burling LLP			
Liana Sandulescu	Principal Case Officer, UK Competition and Markets Authority			
Luigi Della Corte	Associate, UK Financial Conduct Authority			
Dr Magali Eben	Lecturer in Competition Law, University of Glasgow			
Maria loannidou	Senior Lecturer in Competition Law, Queen Mary University of London			
Maria Sourvanou	Legal Adviser, UK Competition and Markets Authority			
Dr Niamh Dunne	Associate Professor of Law, London School of Economics and Political Science			
Nidhi Singh	Counsel, Supreme Court of India			
Ryan Stones	Senior Lecturer in Competition Law, City, University of London			
Dr Srikant Parthasarathy	Principal Partner, Chakra Venture Partners LLP			
Todor Papanov	Associate, Van Bael & Bellis			
William Kovacic*	Professor at George Washington University, Visiting Professor at King's College			

* Judge in the Final Panel

Problem question

Many thanks to Alison Jones, Andriani Kalintiri and Dorothy Livingston for preparing the problem question.





Participating teams

ORAL ROUND – QUALIFYING TEAMS

UNIVERSITY	COUNTRY	ALIAS
EDHEC Business School	UK	Capeta
Université Catholique De Lille	France	Jürimäe
King's College London	UK	Ziemele
Maharashtra National Law University, Mumbai	India	llešič
National Law School of India University, Bangalore	India	Jarukaitis
National University of Singapore	Singapore	Gavalec
O.P. Jindal Global University	India	Pikamäe
Université Paris-Saclay	France	Prechal
University of Hong Kong	Hong Kong	Kokott
University of Amsterdam	The Netherlands	Biltgen
University of Oxford	UK	Rantos
Utrecht University	The Netherlands	Arastey-Sahn

Written pleadings - 38 PARTICIPANTS:

20 teams from India;

7 teams from the United Kingdom;

3 teams from France, 2 teams from The Netherlands, 2 teams from Hong Kong, and

1 team from Singapore, Moldova, Hungary and Paraguay

Many thanks to Ali MacGregor, Anne Eckenroth, Christon Shenolikar, Daniel Barrio, Dorothy Livingston, Helen Bignall, Sam Poole, Sean Giles, Suzy Campbell, Tom Kemp and Yev Khodakovskyy from Herbert Smith Freehills;

and

Alejandra Ronda Martinez, Amit Cohen, Anastasija Rogozianskaja, Carlo Monegato, Dami Odunlami, Nanret Senok, Philipp Baschenhof, Russell O'Brien and Tanya Joon from the CMA for their invaluable assistance in marking the written pleadings.



HILLS



Written Round Ranking

- 1 University of Oxford
- 2 National University of Singapore
- 3 Université Paris-Saclay
- 4 EDHEC Business School
- 5 The University of Hong Kong
- 6 O.P. Jindal Global University
- 7 = National Law School of India University, Bangalore Maharashtra National Law University, Mumbai
 - 8 King's College London
 - 9 Utrecht University
- 10 University of Amsterdam
- 11 Université Catholique De Lille

Oral Round Schedule & Outcomes

	Preliminary Round				
Group A	Rantos (C) - Kokott (D)	Kokott (C) - Ziemele (D)	Ziemele (C) - Rantos (D)		
		Pikamäe (C) – Arastey-	Arastey-Sahun (C) -		
Group B	Gavalec (C) - Pikamäe (D)	Sahun (D)	Gavalec (D)		
Group C	Prechal (C) – Jarukaitis (D)	Jarukaitis (C) – Biltgen (D)	Biltgen (C) – Prechal (D)		
Group D	Capeta (C) - Ilešič (D)	llešič (C) - Jürimäe (D)	Jürimäe (C) - Capeta (D)		

	Quarter-Finals		
	Arastey-Sahun (C) - Ziemele		
QF1	(D)	Semi-finals	
QF2	Gavelec (C) - Kokott (D)	Ziemele (C) - Jürimäe (D)	Finals
QF3	Jürimäe (C) - Biltgen (D)	llešič (C) – Gavalec (D)	Gavalec (C) v Ziemele (D)
QF4	llešič (C) - Jarukaitis (D)		

(C) is for Claimant, (D) is for Defendant. The winning teams are in **bold**.





Awards

Winning Team

National University of Singapore, Stanley Woo Wei Siang, Brandon Wong Wei Lun, Samuel Ye YiXu, Zhong Tianyu

Runner-up Team

King's College London Leonardo Antonelli, Draga Petrovic, Ilia Sigarev, Elena Micheli

Best Written Pleadings

University of Oxford Sushrut Royyuru, Harry Chan, Mihir Rajamane, Chun Sze

Best Advocate

Patrick Legros Utrecht University

The following participants were also commended for their excellent advocacy during the competition:

Brandon Wong (National University of Singapore), Leonardo Antonelli and Draga Petrovic (King's College London), Louis Delfosse (University of Amsterdam), Maëlys Cleuziat (Université Catholique de Lille), Naman Golechha (O.P. Jindal Global University (JGU)) and Angel Chan (The University of Hong Kong)

Congratulations!

Follow us & stay in touch on: Herbert Smith Freehills Competition Law Moot