Show/hide main menu

The Dickson Poon School of Law

Herbert Smith Freehills Competition Law Moot 2019


The Dickson Poon School of Law is very proud to offer students from across the world the opportunity to participate in the Herbert Smith Freehills Competition Law Moot. The competition is generously sponsored by Herbert Smith Freehills, one of the world’s leading law firms.

Teams are invited to submit memoranda which will be marked by competition law academics and practitioners. The 12 teams with the highest marked memoranda will be invited to the Oral Rounds at Somerset House East Wing, the home of The Dickson Poon School of Law. The competition will provide an excellent opportunity for students to practise and improve advocacy skills in front of a judging panel, drawn from international competition law specialists.

Qualification for 2019

The top 12 teams qualified for the Oral Round of the HSF Competition Law Moot 2019 are:

Barthet, Biltgen, Fernlund, Ilešič, Larsen, Lenaerts, Lycourgos, Malenovsky, Prechal, Sharpston, Szpunar & Wahl.

The £2000 scholarship has been awarded to team Larsen.

Find the latest updates on Twitter twitter logo





King's is delighted to offer one scholarship of £2000 to pay towards the costs of participating in the Oral Round for student members of a team from a University in a Medium or Low HDI Country (based on the UNDP Human Development Index). This scholarship will be awarded to the student members of the team with the highest score in the Written Round and which qualifies to participate in the Oral Round.


Further information about the competition

Registration & Cost

Click here to register and pay for the 2019 Herbert Smith Freehills Competition Law Moot.

The Registration Fee to enter the Competition is £120 per team. There are no separate fees for the Oral Round. Breakfast and lunch will be provided throughout the weekend.


The preferred method of payment is via the Estore when you register. If you require an invoice to be sent to you instead please email


If you request an invoice the estore registration form must still be completed using the 'team registration without online payment' option.

Rules Question Timeline

The Herbert Smith Freehills Competition Law Moot timeline is available below:

Mid November 2018        Publication of the problem question

21 Jan 2019                     Deadline for registration

28 Jan 2019                     Deadline for requesting clarifications

18 Feb 2019                     Publication of clarifications

8 April 2019                      Deadline for submission of written pleadings          

1 May 2019                       Announcement of finalists

13-15 June 2019              Oral Round at King's College London


Follow the Herbert Smith Freehills Competition Law Moot on TwitterFacebook and LinkedIn for updates.


If you have any questions about the Herbert Smith Freehills Competition Law Moot please contact:

2018 Results

The Oral Round for 2018 was held at King's on 15 and 16 June 2018. Awards were presented as follows:

Winning Team - King’s College London

Alexandre Taboni
Jan Przerwa
Abigail Beardsworth
Niharika Parshurampuria

Runner-up Team - The West Bengal National University Of Juridical Sciences

Raksha Raina
Aniket Singh
Nirmit Agrawal
Manika Gupta

Best Written Pleadings - The University of Hong Kong

Yuet Yi Cheng
Law Wai Tsun Hazel
Ng Chun Wai Jonathan
Karen Tsang Nga Yue

Best Advocate - Niharika Parshurampuria, King’s College London

The following participants were also commended for their excellent advocacy during the competition: Manika Gupta, Tanmayi Sharma, Law Wai Tsun Hazel, Kim Bumsooand Abigail Beardsworth (Best Advocate in the Finals) 

The Herbert Smith Freehills Competition Law Moot 2018 Scholarship was awarded to O.P. Jindal Global University. 


Sitemap Site help Terms and conditions  Privacy policy  Accessibility  Modern slavery statement  Contact us

© 2019 King's College London | Strand | London WC2R 2LS | England | United Kingdom | Tel +44 (0)20 7836 5454