Show/hide main menu

Centre of European Law

About us and Contact

To contact the Centre of European Law please email Enquiries can also be made by calling+44 (0) 20 7848 2387. The Centre is also active on Twitter (@celkcl).

Address and travel directions:

Centre of European Law
The Dickson Poon School of Law
Somerset House East Wing
King's College London
Strand, London

Local area map and campus map

Travel Directions to the Strand Campus

Staff profiles

Academic Staff



Professor Sir Francis Jacobs KCMG QC
School of Law profile                  



Professor Andrea Biondi
School of Law profile 



Professor Takis Tridimas
School of Law profile

Director of Academic Programmes


Professor Alexander Türk
School of Law profile 

Research Coordinator


Dr Oana Stefan
School of Law profile

Research Fellow - Brexit

 Maria Kendrick

Dr Maria Kendrick
Research Profile



Fellows & Visiting Professors/Lecturers


The Centre of European Law acknowledges contributions of high calibre individuals to the activities of the Centre, through their involvement in teaching, participation in conferences and seminars, or any other kind of academic support. Fellows of the Centre are appointed by directors' invitation for three years. They enjoy a close involvement with Centre activities and its support, as well as free attendance at all events.

Dr Diego Acosta Arcarazo
Professor, University of Bristol

Dr Silvia Bartolini
University of Lille

Michael Bowsher QC
Barrister, Monckton Chambers
Visiting Professor, King's College London

Dr Pierluigi Congedo
LUISS Guido Carli, Rome 

Dr Egle Dagilyte
Senior Lecturer in Law, Anglia Ruskin University

Marie Demetriou QC
Barrister, Brick Court Chambers

Dr Christina Eckes 
Professor of European Law, University of Amsterdam

Martin Farley
Legal Service, European Commission

Leo Flynn
Visiting Professor, King's College London; Member of the Legal Service, European Commission

Dr Gian Marco Galletti
European Court of Justice

Dr Amandine Garde 
Professor of Law, University of Liverpool

Robin Griffith 
Solicitor, Clifford Chance, London

Greg Jones 
Francis Taylor Buildings

Gianni Lo Schiavo
European Central Bank

Dr Makeen F Makeen  
School of Oriental and African Studies

Dr Isidora Maletic
King's College London

Dr Maria Laura Marceddu
University of Edinburgh

Robert McCracken QC 
Francis Taylor Buildings

Patrizio Messina
Partner, Orrick

Gabriella Muscolo
Italian Competition Authority


Conor Quigley QC
Serle Court

Dr Kyriaki (Korina) Raptopoulou
University of Athens

Dr Stefanie Ripley
King's College London

Dr Luca Rubini 
Reader, University of Birmingham

Dr Alessandro Spano
University College London

Panagiotis Stasinopoulos
King's College London

Dr Alina Tryfonidou
Associate Professor, University of Reading

Marc van der Woude, Judge
General Court of the European Union

Professor Wouter Wils
Hearing Officer, European Commission

Carsten Zatschler
Director of Legal and Executive Affairs, EFTA Surveillance Authority


Visiting professors and Senior Lecturers

The Centre also appoints visiting professors. An appointment by the directors acknowledges remarkable academic standing and involvement in the Centre's activities. A visiting professor delivers guest lectures and contributes to public events of the Centre.

Visiting Professors

Jose Buendia Sierra
Partner at Garrigues, Brussels

Sir Jonathan Faull KCMG
Chair of European Public Affairs at the Brunswick Group

Leo Flynn, Member of the Legal Service, European Commission

The Hon Mr Justice Roth
High Court of England and Wales

Elisabetta Righini
Latham and Watkins LLP

Professor Wouter Wils 
Hearing Officer, European Commission

Visiting Senior Lecturers

Robin Griffith  
Solicitor, Clifford Chance, London

Advisory Board

The Advisory Board of the Centre of European Law meets annually to consider and approve Centre accounts, and to discuss and review Centre development and strategies. It promotes and supports the Centre's activities. The Board is made up of internal and external professionals from the judiciary, academia and law practice who add substantial experience and knowledge to the leadership of the Centre. Current members of the Advisory Board are:


The Rt Hon Lady Justice Mary Arden DBE
Supreme Court of the UK

Sir Christopher Bellamy QC
Linklaters LLP

Paul Berman
Council of the European Union

Kieron Beal QC
Blackstone Chambers

Professor Andrea Biondi
Centre Director, King's College London

The Rt Hon Lord Justice Carnwath CVO
The Royal Courts of Justice 

John Davies
Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer LLP

Marie Demetriou QC
Brick Court Chambers

Professor Gillian Douglas
Dean of The Dickson Poon School of Law, King's College London

Baroness Falkner of Magravine
House of Lords

The Rt Hon Lord Justice Green
Court of Appeal

Professor Sir Francis Jacobs QC
Centre President, King's College London

Professor Alison Jones
King's College London

The Rt Hon Lord Lloyd-Jones
Supreme Court of the UK

Professor Anand Menon
King's College London

Professor Renato Nazzini
King's College London

Elisabetta Righini
Latham and Watkins LLP

Professor Takis Tridimas
King's College London

Professor Alexander Turk
King's College London

Christopher Vajda QC
Former judge at the Court of the European Communities

Richard Whish QC (Hon), Emeritus Professor of Law
King's College London

Management & Administration

Centre Manager


Christine Copping

Somerset House East Wing, room -1.18

tel +44 (0) 20 7848 2387

Please contact Christine for general queries, in particular in relation to business, research, events and finance.

Senior Programme Officer

Andrea CJ website 2016 small

Andrea Cordwell James

Somerset House East Wing, room -1.18

tel +44 (0) 20 7848 1768

Please contact Andrea for general queries, in particular for questions about our Distance Learning programmes.


Sitemap Site help Terms and conditions  Privacy policy  Accessibility  Modern slavery statement  Contact us

© 2020 King's College London | Strand | London WC2R 2LS | England | United Kingdom | Tel +44 (0)20 7836 5454