Show/hide main menu

Research Groups

Cancer Bioinformatics

Academic staff

Dr Anita Grigoriadis
Lecturer in Bioinformatics
Email: anita.grigoriadis@kcl.ac.uk
Hasan Mirza
Scientific Programmer
Email: hasan.mirza@kcl.ac.uk
Salpie Nowinski
PhD student
Email:
 Salpie.e.nowinski@kcl.ac.uk
Jelmar Quist
PhD student 
Email: jelmar.quist@kcl.ac.uk
Dalia Tarantino
PhD student
Email: dalia.tarantino@kcl.ac.uk

Thomas Hardiman
PhD student
Email: thomas.hardiman@kcl.ac.uk

 

About the group

Research in the Cancer Bioinformatics group centres around the application of computational methods to two areas of triple-negative breast cancer (TNBC) biology: genomic instability, and the interplay between tumour cells and the immune system. By elucidating the biology of TNBCs, we aim to identify potential therapeutic targets and develop biomarkers for patient stratification.

Using data from high-throughput assays, we establish algorithms to measure different patterns of genomic instability, their transcriptional readouts, and their relationships to drug sensitivity in the neo-adjuvant, adjuvant and metastatic settings with the aim of understanding the changes that drive TNBCs.  By working closely with Professor Andrew Tutt, oncologist and director of Breast Cancer Now, and associated with the Section of Research Oncology, we are able to draw upon clinical trial data and tumour specimen data to establish and test our computational techniques.  

In a joint programme with Professor Adrian Hayday's group, we explore statistical means of capturing the transcriptional and protein network profiles of TNBCs with a special focus on the NKG2D/T-cell axis of the immune system.  In parallel, we collaborate with Professor Sarah Pinder to assess the impact on disease progression of the diverse immune/stromal features observed in TNBC specimens.

http://cancerbioinformatics.co.uk/

 

Sitemap Site help Terms and conditions  Privacy policy  Accessibility  Modern slavery statement  Contact us

© 2019 King's College London | Strand | London WC2R 2LS | England | United Kingdom | Tel +44 (0)20 7836 5454