Skip to main content
KBS_Icon_questionmark link-ico

Dr Anna Marie Davies awarded the David Blow Memorial prize

Dr Anna Marie Davies has been awarded the David Blow Memorial prize at the British Crystallographic Association spring meeting.

The prize, which includes a trophy of mounted Blue John crystal, is awarded annually by the British Crystallographic Association for the best poster in the Biological Structures Group.

Dr Davies, a post-doctoral researcher in Professor Brian Sutton’s group in the Randall Division of Cell and Molecular Biophysics, was awarded the prize for a poster reporting her research on the structure of the IgG4 antibody subclass. The work described in the poster, titled “Crystal structure of deglycosylated human IgG4-Fc” was carried out in collaboration with Professor Roy Jefferis from the University of Birmingham and has since been accepted for publication in Molecular Immunology.

Funded by the Medical Research Council UK, Dr Davies uses X-ray crystallography to study the structure of antibodies, molecules which form a vital part of the immune system, helping the body to recognise and eliminate pathogens. There are four subclasses for IgG antibodies and Dr Davies is interested in understanding the underlying structural differences which give each subclass its properties.

This is the second time that a member of the Randall Division has received the award. In 2007 Dr Ivan Laponogov , at that time a PhD student in Dr Mark Sanderson’s group in collaboration with Professor Mark Fisher's group from St. George’s, University of London,  won the award for a poster titled "Breakage-Reunion Domain of Streptococcus pneumoniae Topoisomerase IV: Crystal Structure of a Gram-Positive Quinolone Target". Ivan continues his work on this project alongside collaboration as a postdoc.