Show/hide main menu


Heads of Sections

Allergy and Asthma

Professor Hannah Gould is Head of the Allergy and Asthma Section. She studies the mechanisms of IgE regulation and function in health and disease, focusing mainly on the respiratory diseases, asthma, rhinitis, and nasal polyposis. She collaborates with Prof. Brian Sutton and other members of the Structural Biology Section on the relation between antibody structure and function and with Prof. Christopher Corrigan (Division of Asthma, Allergy and Lung Biology) on the pathophysiology of asthma. She also aims to translate IgE biologics into medicine, e.g. the treatment of non-atopic asthma by anti-IgE and IgE immunotherapy of cancer.

Professor Jim McDonnell is Deputy Head.

Cell Imaging

Dr Susan Cox is Head of the Cell Imaging Section. Dr Cox has held a Royal Society University Research Fellowship since 2011. She develops and uses new super-resolution optical techniques, particularly those that can be used in live cells. She collaborates with many other members of the division to better understand the structure and function of the cytoskeleton. 

Deputy head to be appointed.

Cell Motility & Cytoskeleton

Professor Riki Eggert is Head of the Cell Motility & Cytoskeleton Section. Professor Eggert studies how cells divide, a process that is essential for life, growth and development. Her research applies techniques from cell biology and chemical biology to investigate cell division at the process, pathway, protein and metabolite levels, with a particular focus on the roles of lipids.

Professor Maddy Parsons is Deputy Head.

Muscle Biology

Professor Mathias Gautel is Head of the Muscle Biology since 2002. Professor Gautel holds the British Heart Foundation Chair of Molecular Cardiology since 2008. He is interested in the signals controlling the assembly and turnover of the striated muscle contractile machinery (the sarcomeres) during development and physiological adaptation, and how these mechanisms are disrupted in muscle diseases. A major focus is the modulation of cellular signals by mechanical strain on two giant proteins, titin and obscurin.

Dr Elisabeth Ehler is Deputy Head.

Structural Biology

Professor Brian Sutton is Head of the Structural Biology Section, and his research involves X-ray crystallography and other biophysical techniques to study protein structure. Professor Sutton's principal research interests concern the structure, function and evolution of antibodies and their receptors, and their role in health and disease.

Professor Sasi Conte is Deputy Head.

Sitemap Site help Terms and conditions  Privacy policy  Accessibility  Modern slavery statement  Contact us

© 2020 King's College London | Strand | London WC2R 2LS | England | United Kingdom | Tel +44 (0)20 7836 5454