Skip to main content
KBS_Icon_questionmark link-ico

IoPPN and SLaM receive awards at 2020 RCPsych Awards Ceremony

Several colleagues working across IoPPN and South London & Maudsley NHS Foundation Trust (SLaM) received awards at the Royal College of Psychiatrists virtual Awards ceremony on 19 November 2020.

Photos of award winners Prof James MacCabe and Dr Emmert Roberts
Professor James MacCabe and Dr Emmert Roberts

The RCPsych Awards are a yearly event held by the Royal College of Psychiatrists, and mark the highest levels of excellence and achievement within the field of psychiatry.

MacCabe RCPsych
Professor James MacCabe

Professor James MacCabe was awarded Dr B L Sharda Memorial Academic Researcher of the Year Award.

My research mainly addresses the clinical issues that I encounter in my work at the National Psychosis Unit, and I would like to thank my colleagues there for their commitment to providing world class care and pushing forward the boundaries of our knowledge in the field of treatment resistant psychosis. Finally, on behalf of the IoPPN and SLaM, I thank our service users, including innumerable research participants and service user advisors who volunteer their time and experience every day to further all of our knowledge and understanding– Professor James MacCabe

Professor MacCabe is Professor of Epidemiology and Therapeutics at the IoPPN and Consultant Psychiatrist in the National Psychosis Unit at SLaM. He applies the techniques of epidemiology and population research to study the causes, consequences and treatments of psychoses, particularly in treatment resistant schizophrenia and personalized medicine. He leads STRATA, an MRC-funded multi-centre consortium developing stratified medicine for schizophrenia. He remains an active clinician and spends 50% of his time working in the NHS as Honorary Consultant Psychiatrist at the National Psychosis Unit, at the Bethlem Royal Hospital, South London and Maudsley NHS Foundation Trust.

Roberts RCPsych
Dr Emmert Roberts

Dr Emmert Roberts received the Higher Psychiatric Trainee of the Year award.

I hope this award serves to highlight the current crisis in addiction psychiatry and helps people advocate for funding parity for the millions of patients with drug, alcohol and tobacco addiction in the UK. Addiction psychiatry is a specialty on the brink of extinction. With an 80% reduction is the number of addiction psychiatry training posts, and over £250 million disinvested from treatment services since 2012, the need to recruit and train the addiction psychiatrists of the future has never been more important– Dr Emmert Roberts

Dr Emmert Roberts is a Clinical Research Fellow at the National Addiction Centre and a Specialist Registrar in Substance Misuse Psychiatry at SLaM. His research on alcohol-related conditions in the UK hospital system made national front-page headlines highlighting the high prevalence of both harmful use and dependence on alcohol. He is one of the first UK psychiatrists to diagnose and treat gaming disorder and has lectured extensively on this area. He has demonstrated extraordinary leadership at his stage of training being appointed as an honorary advisor to Public Health England, and as a trustee and company director on the board of the UK's largest alcohol harm reduction charity, Alcohol Change UK.

SLaM Chair Sir Norman Lamb was made an Honorary Fellow with the Royal College of Psychiatrists for his commitment to improve services for people who experience mental ill-health and those with learning disabilities.

Other colleagues from SLaM who were honoured at the awards were:

  • Dr Mandy Johnstone, Consultant Psychiatrist and Clinical Genomics Lead, received a Presidents Medal
  • Elliott Bernard-Cooper received the award for Patient Contributor of the Year

Other King’s nominees at this year’s awards were:

  • Dr Marta di Forti for Dr B L Sharda Memorial Academic Researcher of the Year Award
  • Roxanne Keynejad for Higher Psychiatric Trainee of the Year

More on this year’s awards and winners can be found here.

In this story

James Hunter MacCabe

James Hunter MacCabe

Professor of Epidemiology and Therapeutics

Emmert Roberts

Emmert Roberts

MRC Clinical Research Fellow