Show/hide main menu

News archive 2001

King's and the General Election

14 Jun 2001

Following the General Election last week, King’s now has ten Members of Parliament in the House of Commons who graduated from or worked at the College.

The successful candidates comprise 4 Conservatives and 6 Labour MPs. This is down on the 1997 election by three following the retirement of four sitting MPs and the election of one new one.

King’s College London Alumni MPs

Tim Collins CBE (MA War Studies, 1986), Conservative MP for Westmorland & Lonsdale since 1997. He is currently Senior Vice-Chairman of the Conservative Party

Mark Francois (MA War Studies, 1987), Conservative MP for Rayleigh. He replaced the retiring MP Dr Michael Clark, who is also a former student of King’s (BSc Chemistry, 1956).

Neil Gerrard (MEd Education, 1973 Chelsea College), Labour MP for Walthamstow since 1992

Fiona Mactaggart (BA English, 1975), Labour MP for Slough since 1997. She was the Parliamentary Private Secretary to Chris Smith from 1997-2001

Julie Morgan (BA English, 1965), Labour MP for Cardiff North since 1997

Bill Rammell (General Manager of KCL Students’ Union from 1980 – 94), Labour MP for Harlow since 1997

Keith Simpson (PGCE, 1965), Conservative MP for Norfolk Mid since 1997. He was a Conservative Whip in the last Parliament

Dr Howard Stoate (MB BS, 1974 MSc, DRCOG), Labour MP for Dartford since 1997

Gary Streeter (LLB, 1977) Conservative MP for Devon South West since 1997 and before that the member for Plymouth Sutton 1992-1997. He is Shadow Secretary of State for International Development

Gareth R Thomas (MA History 1996) Labour MP for Harrow West since 1997. He was Parliamentary Private Secretary to Charles Clarke, Minister of State at the Home Office

The retiring King’s alumni MPs were: Dr Michael Clark MP, The Rt Hon John MacGregor OBE Conservative MP for Norfolk South (LLB), Dr John Marek Labour MP for Wrexham (BSc Mathematics, 1962; PhD Mathematics, 1965) and Ted Rowlands Labour MP for Merthyr Tydfil & Rhymney (BA History, 1962


King's College London Constituency MPs

King’s has several campuses and sites across London which fall into a number of different constituencies. Our various MPs are as follows:


Mark Field - Conservative MP for Cities of London & Westminster

Strand Campus

Wellington Hall


Kate Hoey - Labour MP Vauxhall, Minister for Sport (1997 - 2001)

Waterloo Campus (Franklin-Wilkins Building, James Clerk Maxwell Building)

King's Denmark Hill Campus

St Thomas' Campus

Stamford Street Apartments

Brian Cramer House

St Thomas' House

The Rectory Student House


The Rt Hon Harriet Harman – Labour MP for Camberwell & Peckham , Solicitor General (2001-

Denmark Hill (Institute of Psychiatry)


Simon Hughes - Liberal Democrat MP for Southwark North & Bermondsey Liberal Democrat Spokesman for Home Affairs

Guy’s Campus

Great Dover Street Apartments

Wolfson House


Glenda Jackson CBE - Labour MP for Hampstead & Highgate

Hampstead Campus


Tessa Jowell - Labour MP for Dulwich & West Norwood, Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport (2001-

King’s College Hall

Half Moon Lane

Dulwich Sports Ground (Griffin)


Edward Davey - Liberal Democrat MP for Kingston and Surbiton

New Malden Sports Ground (Berrylands)


Ian Taylor - Conservative MP for Esher and Walton

Cobham Sports Ground


Joan Ruddock - Labour MP for Lewisham Deptford

Honor Oak Park Sports Ground

Sitemap Site help Terms and conditions  Privacy policy  Accessibility  Modern slavery statement  Contact us

© 2018 King's College London | Strand | London WC2R 2LS | England | United Kingdom | Tel +44 (0)20 7836 5454