Show/hide main menu

Diversity & Inclusion

Department Equality & Diversity Committee

Terms of Reference

Committee Purpose:

The Department Equality & Diversity Committee oversees and guides the Department of Physics to ensure that it provides an inclusive environment for all staff and students.

The Committee will discuss, implement, promote and monitor department level actions aimed at improving the working and learning environment for academics, professional services staff and students in line with College objectives.

The Committee will report to the Faculty Equality and Diversity Committee and to the Department of Physics staff meeting.


  • To act as a forum for the engagement of staff and students in issues related to equality and diversity and to disseminate relevant information when required.
  • To develop policies, procedures and practices directly related to equality and diversity, and to identify areas of good practice that can be developed and implemented across the Faculty.
  • To promote, advise and encourage the department in the effective integration and implementation of equality and diversity policy and procedures set by the Faculty and College.
  • To monitor and evaluate the implementation and effectiveness of policies, procedures and plans set by the Faculty and the College and to refer issues to the relevant Committees.
  • To drive the implementation of external equality and diversity initiatives e.g. Athena SWAN and Project Juno.
  • To lead the promotion of best practice, and advise on publicity and events within the Faculty.

Department Equality and Diversity Committee membership:


Dr Amelle Zair

Head of Department

Prof. Peter Main 

Department Manager

Dr Paul Le Long 

Secretary, ex officio Department Co-ordinator

James French 

ex officio NMS Equality & Diversity Co-ordinator

Lucy Ward

ex officio Tutor to female students

Dr Francesca Baletto 

ex officio Disability Co-ordinator

Dr Francisco (Paco) Rodriguez-Fortuno 

Teaching Fellow

Dr Furqaan Yusaf 

Research Fellow

Dr Chris McCabe

Post-Doc Representative

Dr Diane Roth

Post-Doc Representative

Dr Andrew Stannard

PGR Representative

Stephanie Baines

PGR Representative

Emilie Steinmark

President of KCL Women in Physics Society

Engila Saidy

UG Representative

Amardeep Chawla 


Sitemap Site help Terms and conditions  Privacy policy  Accessibility  Modern slavery statement  Contact us

© 2019 King's College London | Strand | London WC2R 2LS | England | United Kingdom | Tel +44 (0)20 7836 5454