Skip to main content
KBS_Icon_questionmark link-ico
Dr David Mwambari

Dr David Mwambari

  • Academics
  • Visiting

Visiting Research Associate

Contact details


David Mwambari is an FWO postdoctoral research fellow at the Department of Conflict and Development Studies at Ghent University in Belgium and an adjunct faculty at The African Leadership Centre (ALC) in the Faculty of Social Science & Public Policy at King’s College London (UK). He is a core faculty at the Oxford Consortium on Human Rights. He was previously an assistant professor of international relations at the School of Humanities and Social Sciences, United States International University–Africa (Nairobi). He has also taught at Shawnee State University (Portsmouth, OH, USA) as a visiting assistant professor of international relations (2010–2011), has served as a teaching assistant at Syracuse University (2008–2010), and as a tutor at La Trobe University (2011–2012). He has given lectures, presented at numerous conferences and has presented and published scholarly works and award winning poetry in academic and non-academic forums globally.

Mwambari's publications have appeared in peer reviewed journals including African Conflict & Peacebuilding Review, Memory Studies, The Journal Leadership of Leadership and Developing Societies and chapters in edited books. He is currently completing two manuscripts under contracts (one being a co-edited volume). He has been a recipient of individual research grants and been part of research teams that received grants from International Development Research Centre (Canada), Carnegie Corporation of New York (USA), Cambridge-Africa ALBORADA (UK), FWO (Belgium), USIU-A (Kenya), CODESRIA (Senegal), and VLIR-UOS (Belgium). His work has won various awards including Nancy Millis Award for theses of exceptional merit at La Trobe University in Melbourne Australia.



  • Gender, Leadership and Peacebuilding
  • Memorialization in post-conflict and post-genocide African countries
  • Role of memorialization or forgetting and International Relations
  • Regional focus is on Central and Eastern Africa.

Mwambari has worked on peacebuilding initiatives and development projects in communities in Burundi, Democratic Republic of Congo, Kenya, North Uganda, and Rwanda. He has also worked with Somali, Burundian, Liberian, Nepalese and Sudanese refugee youth in New York and Melbourne cities. For his volunteer work in Rwanda, Mwambari is the visionary behind Sanejo, a young-professionals-led organization whose mission is to promote education in post-conflict countries. Among their accomplishments is a completed five-year project (2010–2015) that was inspired by Millennium Development Goals (MDG) 2 that invested over USD $250,000 in a community school in Rwanda. After rehabilitation of the school and innovative teacher training programs the school ranks as number one in the district of Ruhango national primary exams 2016 and 2018. The school has over 1,100 pupils enrolled annually