Show/hide main menu

Research

Cyber Security Research

Cyber Security Research Group

Convenor: Dr Tim Stevens

The Cyber Security Research Group (CSRG) is a multidisciplinary research group based at the Centre for Science & Security Studies, King’s College London. It promotes research into cyber security by bringing together experts with backgrounds in International Relations, security studies, strategic studies, intelligence, public policy, informatics and computer science.

Cyber security is a key concern for societies reliant on networked information infrastructures for a broad spectrum of social, economic and political activities. Threats to the integrity and functionality of these systems are many, varied and dynamic. The CSRG exists to consider the nature and character of these threats and to formulate appropriate ways of thinking and doing cyber security in the service of society.

The CSRG is an intellectual hub for the study of a wide range of issues in cyber security and allied fields, including cyberwar and cyberwarfare, cyber strategy, cyberterrorism, critical infrastructure protection, information security, information warfare, digital surveillance, cybercrime, cyberespionage and cryptography. We encourage innovation in theory and methods and apply these to contemporary problems of cyber security, whilst stimulating discussion and engagement across academia, government, military and security agencies, media and the general public.

CSRG members are involved in projects relating to cyber security, including cyber strategy, cyber deterrence, global cyber governance, cyber conflict and information warfare.

Members

Convener

Dr Tim Stevens, Lecturer in Global Security, Department of War Studies (tim.stevens@kcl.ac.uk)   

Members

Professor Didier Bigo, Professor of International Relations, Department of War Studies and Sciences-Po, Paris (didier.bigo.conflits@gmail.com)

Professor Mervyn Frost, Professor International Relations, Department of War Studies (mervyn.frost@kcl.ac.uk)

Dr Natasha Kuhrt, Lecturer, Department of War Studies (natasha.kuhrt@kcl.ac.uk)

Dr John Stone, Senior Lecturer, Department of War Studies (john.stone@kcl.ac.uk)

Dr Rod Thornton, Lecturer, Defence Studies Department (mailto:rod.thornton@kcl.ac.uk)

Dr David Whetham, Reader in Military Ethics, Defence Studies Department (david.whetham@kcl.ac.uk)

Charlie Winter, Senior Research Fellow, ICSR (charlie.winter@kcl.ac.uk)

Visiting staff

Dr Stephan Blancke, Researcher, Project Alpha (stephan@blancke.de, stephan.blancke@kcl.ac.uk)

Steve Hill, Visiting Senior Fellow, Department of War Studies (steve.hill@kcl.ac.uk)

Nigel Jones, Visiting Fellow, Defence Studies Department (nigel.a.jones@kcl.ac.uk)

Professor Sir David Omand, Visiting Professor, Department of War Studies (davidomand@mac.com)

Paul Ritchie, Visiting Fellow, Department of War Studies (paul.ritchie@kcl.ac.uk)

PGRs

Ashley Sweetman, Department of War Studies (ashley.sweetman@kcl.ac.uk)

 

Sitemap Site help Terms and conditions  Privacy policy  Accessibility  Modern slavery statement  Contact us

© 2018 King's College London | Strand | London WC2R 2LS | England | United Kingdom | Tel +44 (0)20 7836 5454