Skip to main content
KBS_Icon_questionmark link-ico

Academic Board Operations Committee

The Academic Board Operations and Nominations Committee (ABOC) advises Academic Board on any matters pertaining to its governance structures for academic matters as directed by the Board, including: membership of the Board and its committees; elections processes for the Board and from the Board and its committees to other bodies including Council; policies and procedures related to the functioning of the Board.”

The Committee is chaired by the Vice-Chair of Academic Board. The terms of reference, membership, frequency of meetings and conduct of business can be found in here. For further information please contact the secretary.

Meeting dates 2023-24

Academic Board Operations and Nominations Committee meeting dates

DateTime and location

Wednesday, 11 October 2023


Wednesday, 22 November 2023 - cancelled


Wednesday, 7 February 2024 - cancelled


Wednesday, 27 March 2024


Wednesday, 5 June 2024


Meeting dates 2024-25

Papers due to the Governance Team TWO weeks before the meeting date. 

Academic Board Operations and Nominations Committee meeting dates 2024-25

DateTime and location

Wednesday, 10 October 2024

15:00 - 17:00, MS Teams

Wednesday, 14 November 2024

10:00-12:00, MS Teams 

Wednesday, 10 February 2025

09:00-11:30, MS Teams

Wednesday, 17 March 2025

10:00-12:00, MS Teams

Wednesday, 9 June 2025

10:00-12:00, MS Teams

The members of the Academic Board Operations and Nominations Committee are:

Secretary - Joanna Brown

Academic Board Operations and Nominations Committee members



Deputy Chair of Academic Board

Professor Rachel Mills

3 ex-officio members of Academic Board

(i) Vice-Principal (Education & Student Success)

(ii) Vice-Principal (Research)

(iii) One Executive Dean appointed by the Principal

Professor Adam Fagan

Professor Bashir Al-Hashimi

Professor Irene Higginson

5 elected staff members of Academic Board

Professor Susan Brain

Dr Zeena Feldman

Professor Luc Moreau

Dr Yannis Paloyelis

Dr Jack Fosten

Student Members:

(i) President of the KCLSU or designate

(ii) One student member elected by the Academic Board from among the elected students of the Academic Board

Alizeh Abrar, KCLSU Vice President Postgraduate

Joep Lahaije