Skip to main content
KBS_Icon_questionmark link-ico

'Are scientists our new superheroes?' with Professor Michael Levitt - 23 April 2021

Please note that this event has passed.


We invite you to join us for a virtual fireside chat with esteemed King’s alumnus and Nobel Laureate Professor Michael Levitt, as we explore the question: ‘Are scientists our new superheroes?’.

In an age of disinformation and disregard of expert opinion, did the COVID-19 pandemic bring us back around to place greater weight in the opinions and advice of scientific experts? And will this influence last beyond the age of COVID-19?

Professor Michael Levitt (Physics, 1967) is a biophysicist who was awarded the Nobel Prize for Chemistry in 2013 and is currently a professor of structural biology at Stanford University. He will be in conversation with Professor Sir Robert Lechler.

Join us for this one-off event to hear Professor Levitt discuss the role of scientists, what shifts he’s witnessed and what he thinks the future holds regarding scientific influence. You can also have your questions answered by Professor Levitt during the Q&A portion of the event.

Register here to join us live on Friday 23 April 2021, 10:30 BST / 17:30 CST / 05:30 EDT.

Please submit any questions you have for Professor Levitt in advance to us at alumnievents@kcl.ac.uk.

Your details will be passed onto the Alumni Office, who will hold your details to personalise your supporter experience. If you would prefer not to hear from us you can unsubscribe from all further communications at any time by emailing alumnievents@kcl.ac.uk. For information on how we use your details please see our privacy statement.

At this event

Michael Levitt

Michael Levitt

Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2013

Robert Lechler

Robert Lechler

Emeritus Professor


Search for another event

Event details

23 April 2021

Online event

alumnievents@kcl.ac.uk