Skip to main content

24 June 2024

32 King's alumni honoured in King's Birthday Honours 2024

King’s staff and alumni have been recognised for their extraordinary contributions and service in The King’s Birthday Honours. The King has awarded one of our notable alumni with an MBE, and two current members of King's staff have also been commended.

The King's College London logo adorns a red flag, flying in bright sunshine.

An incredible number of King's alumni have been celebrated as part of the announcement.

Debra Holloway MBE (MSc Advancing Professional Healthcare Practice, 2002; Nursing Studies, 2018) was awarded for her services to Women’s Health. Debra was a highly respected Nurse Consultant in Gynaecology at Guy's for 25 years. She is a longstanding member of the British Menopause Society (BMS) and was one of the first to become a BMS recognised menopause specialist. A leader in her field, she was also the first gynaecology nurse to be awarded an honorary fellowship by the Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists.

Adam Hadley CBE (MA Middle East and Mediterranean Studies, 2015) was recognised for is role as Founder and Director of Tech Against Terrorism, a public-private partnership recognized by the UN Security Council to support the global tech sector in tackling the terrorist use of the internet whilst respecting human rights. He is also CEO of the London-based data science consultancy QuantSpark and its not-for-profit arm QuantSpark Foundation.

Farrah Storr MBE (French with English, 2001) is an award-winning magazine editor and author, and the first Head of Writer Partnerships at newsletter platform Substack UK, spearheading the recruitment of new UK writers. Farrah has spoken widely on the issue of inequality and was appointed Commissioner for the Social Mobility Commission (SMC) in November 2018 and Board Member of the National Theatre in 2021.

Emily Holzhausen CBE (Geography, 1991; MA Geography, 1992) was recognised for her commitment to improving the lives of carers. Currently the Director of Policy and Public Affairs for Carers UK, she is one of the country’s foremost experts on carers’ issues. She runs the annual Carer’s Week and has additionally held roles with the Fawcett Society and the National Federation of Women’s Institutes.

Rachel Baggaley OBE (Medicine, 1984) has been given this award in recognition of her work to help people living with HIV. She is the Unit Head of testing, prevention and populations in the Global HIV, Hepatitis and STIs Programmes at the World Head Organisation. Before working for WHO she worked on HIV in all regions with a focus on post-conflict countries and fragile states and worked on community-based programs for key populations.

Two current King's staff members and an Emeritus Professor have also been recognised in the King's Birthday Honours. Professor Sir Roderick Beaton FBA FKC was Koraes Professor of Modern Greek and Byzantine History, Language and Literature at King's from 1988 to 2018. He has been Knighted for services to History and to UK/Greece relations. Professor Rachel Mills CBE is the Senior Vice President (Academic) at King’s and Professor of Ocean Chemistry. She has been awarded a CBE for services to Maritime Science. Dame Alison Wolf DBE is Sir Roy Griffiths Professor of Public Sector Management at King's. She has been named Dame Commander of the Order of the British Empire for services to Education.

 The full list of alumni recipients on The King’s Birthday Honours List were:

  • Dr Rachel Baggaley OBE (Medicine, 1984), OBE for services to people living with HIV and to Global Health.
  • Jonathan Bartop OBE (War Studies, 2012), OBE for services to Defence.
  • Genevieve Bent MBE (Science Education, 2021), MBE for services to Education.
  • Karen Bonner MBE (Advanced Practice, 2011), MBE for services to Nursing.
  • Lieutenant Colonel Shane Burton KCVS (Defence Studies, 2021), King's Commendation for Valuable Service for military service.
  • Major General John Collyer CB (Defence Studies, 2012), Companian of the military division of the most honourable order of the Bath for military service.
  • Major John-Sebastien Cormier MBE (Military and Security Studies, 2019), MBE for military service.
  • Lieutenant Colonel Oliver Denning OBE RM (Defence Studies, 2019), OBE for military service.
  • Peter Dyer OBE (Dentistry, 1979), OBE for services to Dentistry, to Medicine and to the communities of Silverdale and Lancaster.
  • Angela Forbes MBE (Construction Law and Dispute Resolution, 2011), MBE for services to the Construction Industry.
  • Lieutenant Colonel Thomas Forrest KCVS (Defence Studies, 2020), KCVS for military service.
  • Adam Hadley CBE (Middle East and Mediterranean Studies, 2015), CBE for services to Tackling Terrorist Content Online.
  • Debra Holloway MBE (Advancing Professional Health Care Practice, 2002), MBE for services to Women's Health.
  • Emily Holzhausen CBE (Geography, 1992), CBE for services to Unpaid Carers.
  • Major Andrew Horsfall MBE (Military and Security Studies, 2019), MBE for military service.
  • Colonel Aran Jess OBE (Defence Studies, 2013), OBE for military service.
  • Dr Samina Khan MBE (Chemistry, 1985), MBE for services to Higher Education.
  • Dr Jeffrey Kramer BEM (Medicine, 1962), British Empire Medal for services to Hospice Care in Herefordshire.
  • Dr Philip Lewis MBE (Medicine, 1971), MBE for services to the Detection of Oral Cancer.
  • Sally Light OBE (Physiology, 1987), OBE for services to People Affected by Motor Neurone Disease.
  • Air Commodore Mark Lorriman-Hughes (Defence Studies, 2014), CBE for military service.
  • Squadron Leader Graham Orme MBE (Air Power in the Modern World, 2014), MBE for military service.
  • Nevita Pandya MBE (Information Technology, 2003), MBE for services to education.
  • Major General Anna-Lee Reilly CB (Defence Studies, 2012), CB for military service.
  • Colonel Zarack Scott OBE (Defence Studies, 2013), OBE for military service.
  • Wing Commander James Sjoberg OBE (Defence Studies, 2019), OBE for military service.
  • Brigadier Justin Stenhouse CBE (Defence Studies, 2015), CBE for military service.
  • Farah Storr MBE (French with English Literature, 2001), MBE for services to Media and Diversity.
  • Commander George Storton OBE (Defence Studies, 2020), OBE for military service.
  • Major John Thackway MBE (Military and Security Studies, 2019), MBE for military service.
  • Professor Rajesh Thakker OBE (Mathematics, 1993), OBE for services to Medical Science and to People with Hereditary and Rare Disorders.
  • Group Captain Sarah Vamplew CBE (Defence Studies, 2018), CBE for military service.

All at King’s would like to congratulate those honoured this year, as further demonstration of our excellence and the strength of our global alumni community.

We’ve done our best to identify all staff and alumni recognised in the honours list, but if you know an individual we’ve missed, please do let us know.

See the full honours list here.

Related departments