Skip to main content
KBS_Icon_questionmark link-ico

Go to…

5 Minutes with Hathai Boonrod

Hathai Boonrod is the Operations Assistant in the School of Cancer & Pharmaceutical Sciences, Faculty of Life Sciences & Medicine. We took 5 minutes with Thai to learn more about her career and life outside of work.

5-mins-thai-boonrod

Briefly, tell us about your background and career up to this point? 

I have lived in Manchester for the most part of my adult life and worked in the corporate sector, before getting into Higher Education for the past four years. I moved to London last August and joined King's. I absolutely love it here - London and King's.

What is a typical day like for you?

An early wake up call - around 5am. It's not always easy but I like to meditate and read before I get to work. Typically I get in around 8am and finish around 4pm. I always try to keep productive and spend my time well with after-work activities.

What do you think people in the School would find most surprising about you?

That I am an adrenaline junkie - I have done hang gliding off the Sugar Loaf Mountain in Brazil and bungee jumping in Thailand. Perhaps also that I really love jazz and have been to New Orleans, especially for this reason! New Orleans is the birthplace of jazz.

What is your favourite part of your current role?

I love that my role is really varied. I also love that I have the opportunity to get involved with really great initiatives with the wider King’s Community like the Civic Challenge: be the local change maker, and being on the Service to Community Lead on the Development, Diversity & Inclusion Committee. This gives me the opportunity to really integrate my personal value of social contribution within my professional capacity.

What do you like to do with your time outside of work?

Volunteer with a homeless shelter, mentor at a youth group, I take language classes, dance classes, practice yoga, meditation and mindfulness.

What’s your typical morning coffee order?

Vanilla latte with almond milk - from an independent stall.

What advice would you give to your 18-year-old self? 

Practice mindfulness, live a life of purpose and be kind – always.

QUICK-FIRE:

Favourite season: Without a doubt summer. If anyone has come into my office, they will know that the temperature is always kept around 28 degrees - I need heat!

Currently watching on Netflix: The Messiah.

Go to lazy meal: Anything spicy!