Skip to main content

04 September 2017

Academic Promotions

Congratulations to the following members of the Dental Institute who were awarded academic promotions during the 2016-2017 season. These individuals have demonstrated, against the university’s rigorous promotions criteria, that they have delivered the highest quality education, research, and where applicable, innovation and clinical excellence and eminence.


Dental Institute

Professor    Promotion Title  
 Dr Sanjukta Deb  Professor of Biomaterials Science


 Reader  Promotion Title 
 Dr Eduardo Bernabe Ortiz  Reader in Dental Public Health
 Dr Frederic Festy  Reader in Biophotonics
 Ms Penelope Shirlaw   Reader in Oral Medicine
 Dr Ian Thompson  Reader in Medical Device Innovation


Senior Lecturer 
 Dr Robert Knight
 Dr Selvam Thavaraj