Skip to main content

28 November 2022

Annual faculty Prize Giving celebrates the outstanding achievements of our students

The ceremony bestowed academic prizes on student winners across the Faculty of Natural, Mathematical & Engineering Sciences.

NMES Annual Prize Giving event winners

Students from across the Faculty of Natural, Mathematical & Engineering Sciences were awarded prizes at a special ceremony last week in recognition for their outstanding academic achievement and contribution for the academic year 2021/22.

Students were joined by their teachers, tutors, family, and friends to celebrate this milestone in their King’s journey at the Annual Prize Giving event, taking place in the Great Hall.

Every year prizes are given to our undergraduate, postgraduate taught and PhD students across the faculty’s five departments who have demonstrated outstanding academic achievement or contribution to the benefit of their department, the faculty or the university.

Many of these prizes are only made possible thanks to the generous and important contribution of a number of supporters. Some of the prizes arise out of legacies from alumni or former staff who continue to support the faculty and our students in our endeavours. Others have generously been provided by external sponsors who wish to maintain a strong link to what they believe to be some of the best students and staff in one of the UK’s leading universities.

Executive Dean of the Faculty of Natural, Mathematical and Engineering Sciences, Professor Bashir M. Al-Hashimi said:


We are privileged in Natural, Mathematical & Engineering Sciences to attract talented and committed students from across the world to our portfolio of undergraduate, postgraduate taught and PhD programmes. I would like to offer personal congratulations to all our worthy award winners this year.

Executive Dean of the Faculty of Natural, Mathematical and Engineering Sciences, Professor Bashir M. Al-Hashimi

You can find the full list of awards and winners of both departmental and faculty awards here.

The faculty awards were given to:

Ada Lovelace Prize

The Ada Lovelace Student Prize is awarded to the student or group of students (female or male) from the Faculty of Natural, Mathematical & Engineering Sciences who has made the strongest contribution to advancing gender equality within NMES disciplines.

Winner: Hana Mizukami

Florence Hughes Exhibition (women’s prize)

One prize to the value of £100 awarded annually to a woman student of the Faculties of Humanities, Life Sciences and Medicine, Natural, Mathematical & Engineering Sciences and Social Sciences & Public Policy, who, in the opinion of the awarding committee, achieved the highest standard of work in the second year of her course.

Winners: Matilde Muzzolini

JELF Medal

The Jelf Medal is awarded to a student who, in the view of the principal, has most distinguished him or herself during their undergraduate career in the university. In making the award, regard is given not only to the academic proficiency of the student, but also to their prominence in the social and athletic activities of the university.

Winners: Deng Pan and Senan Sekhon.

Layton Science Research Award

The Layton Science Research Awards are given not merely for success in passing examinations but for the best promise of aptitude and genius for original scientific work.

Winners: Anna Taródi, Wing Yin (Valerie) Tsoi and Chenhao Xue