Skip to main content

05 January 2023

IoPPN Staff recognised in New Year Honours

Three colleagues at the Institute of Psychiatry, Psychology & Neuroscience (IoPPN) have been recognised in the 2023 New Year Honours List.

New Year Honours Graphic
Professor Robert Plomin
Professor Robert Plomin, Professor of Behavioural Genetics at King's IoPPN

Professor Robert Plomin FBA, Professor of Behavioural Genetics at the IoPPN, King's College London has been awarded a CBE in the New Year Honours 2023 for services to scientific research.

Professor Plomin has been at King’s since 1994, when he joined to help Professor Sir Michael Rutter launch the Social, Genetic and Developmental Psychiatry (SGDP) Centre. The goal of the Centre is to bring together genetic and environmental strategies to understand individual differences in behavioural development, which characterises Professor Plomin’s research. Professor Plomin founded and ran the Twins Early Development Study (TEDS) for 25 years, which has followed 10,000 pairs of UK twins from infancy through early adulthood. His work on behavioural genetics has proven highly influential.

He was elected the youngest President of the International Behavior Genetics Association and has received lifetime research achievement awards from the major associations related to his field, including the British Psychological Society and the American Psychological Association. He is a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, British Academy, American Academy of Political and Social Science, and Academy of Medical Sciences (UK). He has published more than 800 papers and is the author of Behavioral Genetics, the best-selling textbook in this field, as well as a dozen other books. His most recent book, Blueprint: How DNA Makes Us Who We Are describes how the DNA revolution is transforming science, society and the way we think about ourselves.

Robert’s career started in the USA, before he saw the light and moved to the IoP (as it was then) in 1994. He was already famous for his work in genetics, and was one of the founders of the SGDP, which like him continues to prosper. He is not just an internationally renowned academic, he is also a very gifted communicator of science.

Professor Sir Simon Wessely, Interim Executive Dean, IoPPN
Professor Rachel Jenkins
Rachel Jenkins, Professor Emeritus of Epidemiology and Mental Health Policy at King’s IoPPN

Rachel Jenkins, Professor Emeritus of Epidemiology and Mental Health Policy at King’s IoPPN, received an OBE for her services to mental health policy and research in the UK and overseas. Professor Jenkins directed the World Health Organisation (WHO) Collaborating Centre at the IoPPN for 15 years and continues to lead projects overseas, working with governments and international and national organisations to give support on mental health policy development and implementation, new legislation, training development and innovation, and in providing consultation and strategic advice to government and non-governmental organisations.

Professor Louis Appleby
Professor Sir James Louis Appleby CBE FRCP FRCPE FRCPsych

Professor Louis Appleby, IoPPN and South London and Maudsley NHS Trust alumnus, has received a Knighthood for services to medicine and mental health.

Professor Sir Louis Appleby leads the National Suicide Prevention Strategy (NSPS) Advisory Group, advising the Government on suicide prevention. He has been Director of the National Confidential Inquiry into Suicide and Homicide by People with Mental Illness, a world-leading unit on safety in mental health services, since 1996. He oversaw the first reform of the Mental Health Act for 20 years which brought in new safeguards and treatment powers in the community.

Many congratulations to Robert Plomin, Rachel Jenkins and Louis Appleby on being recognised in the 2023 New Year Honours. We are very proud of you all!

Professor Sir Simon Wessely, Interim Executive Dean, IoPPN

Other King’s staff recognised in the 2023 New Year’s Awards are

  • Professor Vernon Bernard Bogdanor CBE FBA Professor of Government at King's College London received a Knighthood for services to Political Science;
  • Professor David Mosey, Lately Director, Centre of Construction Law and Dispute Resolution at Dickson Poon School of Law, King's College London, received a CBE for services to the Construction Industry;
  • Daniel James Abramson, Headteacher at King's College London Mathematics School, London Borough of Lambeth, received an OBE for services to Education;
  • Professor Geoffrey Till Professor Emeritus, King's College London and US Naval War College received an OBE for services to Defence.

The New Year Honours List 2023 marks the incredible public service of individuals from across the UK.

In this story

Robert Plomin

Professor of Behavioural Genetics