Skip to main content

03 March 2021

NIHR appoints Senior Investigators for 2021

Ammar Al-Chalabi, Professor of Neurology and Complex Disease Genetics at Institute of Psychiatry, Psychology & Neuroscience (IoPPN) at King’s College London has been appointed to the NIHR College of Senior Investigators for 2021 in the 14th round of the Senior Investigator competition.

Illustration with different pictures of doctors providing patient services during the covid pandemic

Senior Investigators are leaders in research and are fundamental to expanding scientific avenues to address public health challenges across the country.

I am honoured to be an NIHR Senior Investigator. The NIHR has been vital to my research into motor neuron disease, and I am excited to be able to contribute significantly as a senior leader and ambassador.

Professor Ammar Al-Chalabi from the Institute of Psychiatry, Psychology & Neuroscience (IoPPN), King's College London

Professor Lucy Chappell, NIHR Research Professor in Obstetrics at King’s College London has also been appointed.

The NIHR Senior Investigator re-appointments are:

  • Professor Allan Young, Chair of Mood Disorders and Director of the Centre for Affective Disorders
  • Professor Colin Drummond, Professor of Addiction Psychiatry and Consultant Psychiatrist at the National Addiction Centre

Professor Matthew Hotopf CBE, Vice Dean of Research at IoPPN is now an Emeritus Senior Investigator.

Researchers are awarded NIHR Senior Investigator status for internationally excellent research – in particular its value, significance to patients and the public, and its overall healthcare impact. The annual competition is led by an international panel of experts, and awardees go on to provide visible leadership within the NIHR.

The IoPPN’s current or emeritus Senior Investigators at the IoPPN are:


Professors Ammar Al-Chalabi, Colin Drummond, Peter Goadsby, Louise Howard, Philip McGuire, Ann McNeill, Carmine Pariante, Andrew Pickles, Ulrike Schmidt, Emily Simonoff, Robert Stewart, John Strang, Steven Williams and Allan Young.


Professors Matthew Hotopf. Philippa Garety, Elizabeth Kuipers, Sir Robin Murray, Sir Graham Thornicroft, Sir Simon Wessely and Dame Til Wykes

Further information on NIHR Senior Investigators is available online.

In this story

Ammar Al-Chalabi

Professor of Neurology and Complex Disease Genetics

Lucy Chappell

NIHR Research Professor in Obstetrics

Allan Young

Head of School, Academic Psychiatry