Skip to main content

11 June 2019

Dr Shukry Habib named on judging panel for 2019 Royal Society Science Book Prize

Dr Habib has been named on the five-strong panel to judge the prize which celebrates the very best in popular science writing from around the world.


The panel is chaired in 2019 by one of the UK’s foremost computer scientists and author of The Digital Ape, Professor Sir Nigel Shadbolt. He will be joined by representatives from across the worlds of science and culture including our very own Dr Shukry Habib, Centre for Stem Cells & Regenerative Medicine as well as the author, Dorothy Koomson; actor and science communicator, Stephen McGann and Gwyneth Williams, Controller of BBC Radio 4 and 4 Extra.

The Prize aims to promote the accessibility and joy of popular science books, and this year’s judging panel will be looking for books that appeal to a broad readership as well as offering interesting narratives and excellent prose: from curious consumers eager to read new perspectives on the world around them to those with an established interest in science writing.

A shortlist of six titles, selected from over 178 submissions published between 1 July 2018 and 30 September 2019, will be announced on Tuesday 27 August. The winner of the 2019 Prize will be announced at an awards ceremony at The Royal Society on Monday 23 September 2019, hosted by Professor Brian Cox OBE FRS, The Royal Society’s Professor for Public Engagement in Science. The winner will receive a cheque for £25,000, with £2,500 awarded to each of the five shortlisted authors.