Skip to main content

01 May 2024

Winners of A-Level writing competitions announced

The Department of Languages, Literatures and Cultures announced the winners of its annual A-Level writing competitions, with the successful writers seeing their work published in the Department’s student magazines.

240501 dllc a level writing comp
From left to right: Etiane Cheung, Imogen Dixon, Wafa Nasseredine and Neha Veera, part of the student editorial team for Sobramesa, the Department's Spanish-, Portuguese- and Catalan-language magazine.

Sixth form students from across the UK took part in a workshop and prize-giving ceremony for the competitions in Comparative Literature, French, German, Spanish and Portuguese, with a winner and runner-up for each category.

“The writing competitions are a highlight in our academic year, giving us an insight into the excellent work being done by sixth form students and their teachers. We had an unprecedented number of entries to the competitions this year and were struck by both the high quality of students’ writing and the range of creative approaches that they adopted. Congratulations to all who took part!”

Dr Catherine Smale, Admissions Tutor in the Department of Languages, Literatures and Cultures

The winning entries have been published in the spring 2024 editions of the Department’s student magazines: Comp Lit Mag (Comparative Literature), Des nouvelles, Héloïse? (French), Königspost (German), and Sobramesa (Spanish, Portuguese and Catalan).

More than 150 students took part in the competitions this year as part of the Department’s outreach programme , which aims to show what it's like to study languages and literatures at university.

If you are a secondary school teacher and would like to join our mailing list to hear more about our events and competitions for schools, please contact Dr Catherine Smale, Admissions Tutor for the Department, on


Comparative Literature, on legacies of colonialism

Winner: Robyn O’Reilly

Runner-up: Tauhida Kharam 

French, on universalism and difference in contemporary France

Winner: Sophia Ravichandran

Runner-up: Daniella Osasumwen Smart Omoruyi

Runner-up: Joseph Layton-Smith

German, on the 25th anniversary of the Euro

Winner: Freya Chapman

Runner-up: Jacob Mundy

Runner-up: Reuben Wood

Highly commended: Ella Dehnugara 

Spanish & Portuguese, on the topic of parallel worlds

Winner: Luke Roberts

Runner-up: Katherine Dixon

Runner-up: Assavari Kaur

In this story

Catherine Smale

Senior Lecturer in German Studies