Skip to main content
KBS_Icon_questionmark link-ico

Department celebrates anniversary milestone

Staff and students came together this week to celebrate the 10th anniversary of the Department of Political Economy.

Professor Jeremy Jennings addresses the audience. Picture: SPE

Academic staff joined former heads of department, alumni and members of the professional services team on 25 January to look back on a decade, plus a little more, since the foundation of political economy as a department.

The official 10-year anniversary was 2020 but the COVID-19 pandemic meant the celebration was delayed.

There were two panel discussions on the night; the first looked back at the formative years of the department and featured former department heads Professor Mark Pennington and Professor Jeremy Jennings along with Dr Santiago Sanchez Pages and chair Dr Nima Paidipaty.

The second panel looked ahead to the future for political economy and welcomed former department head Dr John Meadowcroft along with Professor Humeira Iqtidar, Dr Mona Morgan-Collins, and chair Cristina Zheng Ji.

The celebration event took place in the Great Hall at King's. Picture: SPE

There were also some musical interludes orchestrated by Professor Anja Shortland along with current students and staff members.

The Department of Political Economy began life in 2010 under the stewardship of Professor Ken Young and with just two undergraduate programmes. It has since grown into one of King’s College London’s largest departments, with an academic staff of more than 80 and more than a dozen programmes at undergraduate and postgraduate level.

Professor Andrew Blick, current head of department, said: “There are so many people who have played such important roles in the development of the department from an innovative experiment into what it is today and it was a pleasure to welcome many of them back for our anniversary celebration.

“As well as looking back at our formative years, and hearing about the selfless and vital work of those involved, it was an opportunity also to look ahead and really engage people in the process of building on what has been achieved so far.”

You can find out more about the department here.

The panels touched on both the past and future for the department. Picture: SPE

In this story

John Meadowcroft

John Meadowcroft

Reader in Public Policy

Jeremy  Jennings

Jeremy Jennings

Professor of Political Theory

Andrew  Blick

Andrew Blick

Head of the Department of Political Economy and Professor of Politics and Contemporary History

Mona Morgan-Collins

Mona Morgan-Collins

Lecturer (Assistant Professor) in Gender and Political Economy

Santiago  Sanchez-Pages

Santiago Sanchez-Pages

Reader in Economics

Mark  Pennington

Mark Pennington

Professor of Political Economy and Public Policy

Anja Shortland

Anja Shortland

Professor in Political Economy

Humeira Iqtidar

Humeira Iqtidar

Professor of Politics