Skip to main content

29 November 2018

Faculty Annual Prize Giving 2018

Students and staff from across the Faculty were celebrated at the NMS Annual Prize Giving in the Great Hall on Wednesday 28 November 2018. We wish to congratulate all our staff and students who received an award.

Pink and blue fibre optic cables arranged like an explosion
Fibre optics

Awards were made for contribution to life of the department, contribution to outreach activities and exceptional contribution to the academic progress of fellow students. Prizes were awarded for top grades in examinations, projects & laboratory work, best poster, best research, excellence in practical chemistry, greatest improvement and most promising potential for research. The Spackman Prize was presented to winners of the mathematical competition and the Layton Science Research Awards were given not merely for success in passing examinations but for the best promise of aptitude and genius for original scientific work. Prizes were also awarded to cover costs for scientific conferences. Several students won multiple prizes.

The Ada Lovelace Student Prize, awarded to the student or group of students (female or male) from the Faculty of Natural & Mathematical Sciences that has made the strongest contribution to advancing gender equality within NMS disciplines, was awarded to the Womxn in Physics Society.

When the Duke of Wellington stepped down as Chairman, he proposed inaugurating a medal in celebration of his ancestor’s role in the founding of King’s College. One medal was to be awarded to an outstanding student in the year of their graduation, recognised not only for their academic ability and a range of other achievements during their time at university, but someone who has also demonstrated huge potential for the future. This year, the medal was awarded to Tabasom Haghighi, Department of Chemistry.

Outstanding Teaching Assistant Awards went to Magd Badaoui, Department of Chemistry, Yantong Wang, Department of Informatics, Robert Evans, Department of Mathematics (runner up) and Umesh, Department of Mathematics (runner up), nominated by undergraduate students based on criteria such as engagement with students and making learning enjoyable, and this is supported by other feedback and observations from academic staff. The Faculty established this annual prize to recognise excellence and share good practice.

Kevin Rossi was awarded the Claude Curling Prize best demonstrator or tutorial assistant as voted by the undergraduate students of the Department of Physics.

University-wide prizes were awarded and we are proud that students and staff from the Faculty of Natural & Mathematical Sciences were recognised in these awards.

The Jelf Medal was awarded to Federica Albertini, Department of Physics, and Jan Heimrath, Department of Mathematics, who, in the view of the Principal, have most distinguished themselves during their undergraduate career in the university. In making the award, regard is given not only to the academic proficiency of the students, but also to their prominence in the social and athletic activities of the university.

At the university level, the Teaching Excellence awards are university awards that provide students with the opportunity to recognise teaching staff who have made a difference to their education at King’s. It is a student led competition and the nominations and comments from students are the key factors in deciding each year’s winners.

Teaching Excellence Award – Rising Star recognises the contribution of an individual who has recently joined King's and in a short time has had a large and significant impact on teaching and learning - they are the one to watch! This was awarded to Dr Chris McCabe, Department of Physics.

Teaching Excellence Award – Education Experience recognises the contribution of an individual who has improved the educational experience for students and made a notable impact on the teaching environment. This was awarded to Professor Luca Viganó, Department of Informatics.

You can find the full list of awards and winners here.

In this story

Christopher McCabe

Reader in Physics

Luca Viganò

Vice-Dean (Enterprise and Engagement) and Head of Cybersecurity Group