Skip to main content

16 February 2022

Faculty of Natural, Mathematical & Engineering Sciences celebrates student achievements in annual Prize-Giving ceremony

A proud moment to honour the achievements awarded for the 2020/21 academic year.


The virtual ceremony celebrated student achievements in recognition of distinguished academic performance, original research, excellence in good practice and outstanding contribution towards both the faculty and life at King’s.

Notable Faculty-level prizes included the Ada Lovelace Student Prize, presented to Anel Yegemberdiyeva from the Department of Mathematics, for contribution towards advancing gender equality within the faculty’s disciplines. In recognition of academic excellence, best promise of aptitude and genius for original scientific work, the Faculty Layton Science Research Award was granted to four prize winners - Carla Aldington, Federico Barbero, Katerina Santicola and Maria Buonaguidi from the Departments of Chemistry, Informatics, Mathematics and Physics respectively.

The college-level Jelf Medal was presented to two winners, Jacob Wilson from the Department of Chemistry and Gonzalo León González from the Department of Biomedical Engineering, for their distinguishment in both academic endeavours and prominence in social or athletic activity.

Several students were also awarded multiple prizes, including Aramdokht Amanabadi from the Department of Engineering, who was awarded both the John Oriel Prize and the King’s College Engineering Society Centenary Prize for achieving the highest distinction across examinations. Arun Kumarathas from the Department of Informatics was awarded the Departmental prize for the best overall performance on the MSc in Artificial Intelligence course in addition to the Charles Babbage MSc Prize for exceptional performance.

Other annual department-specific prizes included the Randall Medal from the Department of Physics, awarded to Munzeeb Zafar, the Alan Turing Centenary Prize from the Department of Informatics, awarded to Mariam Aliya Ahmed and the Department of Mathematics’ Marianne Merts Prize, awarded to Tamanna Sehgal. A selection of prizes across the Departments were also supported by professional bodies, including the British Computing Society and the Institute of Mathematics and its Applications.

The contributions and successes of graduate teaching assistants were also celebrated at the prize ceremony, with Asuka Kumon from the Department of Mathematics winning the Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award, and the Department of Physics’ Claude Curling Prize awarded to Katie O’Flynn for best tutorial assistant - a two-year consecutive win for both recipients respectively.

Professor Bashir M. Al-Hashimi, Executive Dean of the Faculty of Natural, Mathematical & Engineering Sciences, commented:

“The annual faculty prize-giving ceremony allows us to recognise and celebrate the success of our students, acknowledging individually and collectively their achievements and contributions to the departments, the faculty and our student community. These achievements are even more noteworthy considering the challenges of the pandemic during the 2020/21 academic year and I am sure you will join me in sharing our warmest congratulations with all the winners.”

Professor Bashir M. Al-Hashimi

Staff and students can view a full list of the faculty prize winners on the King’s internal website.

In this story

Bashir M. Al-Hashimi

Vice President (Research & Innovation)