Skip to main content

12 February 2021

Faculty of Natural & Mathematical Sciences celebrates achievements in virtual Prize-Giving ceremony

The online ceremony celebrated the achievements of students and staff who were awarded academic prizes for the 2019/20 academic year


A highlight of the academic year, prizes from the Faculty of Natural & Mathematical Sciences are awarded in recognition of distinguished academic performance, original research, excellence in good practice and outstanding contribution towards life at King’s.

Highlights of Faculty-level prizes included the Jelf Medal, presented to Jhanelle White and Mahin Nasir for their distinguishment in both academic endeavours and social or athletic activity, and the Ada Lovelace Student Prize, granted to the Womxn in STEM society, for their contribution towards advancing gender equality within the faculty’s disciplines. Cesare Magnetti, Sarah Norman and Frederick Eidsnes Thogersen were presented with the Faculty-level Layton Science Research Award, in recognition of academic excellence and best promise of aptitude and genius for original scientific work.

Several students won multiple prizes, including Kenan Ali Jasmin from the new Department of Engineering, who was awarded both the John Oriel Prize and the King’s College Engineering Society Centenary Prize for showing highest distinction across his examinations. Other annual department-specific prizes included the Daniell Award in Chemistry, awarded to Ecaterina Burevschi, the Randall Medal from the Department of Physics, awarded to Jamie Clifford, the Alan Turing Centenary Prize from the Department of Informatics, awarded to Kayla Michelle and Phillips Sanchez and the Marianne Merts Prize from the Department of Mathematics, awarded to Tamanna Sehgal. Prizes across the Departments were also supported by professional bodies including Springer Nature, the Institute of Mathematics, and the British Computing Society.

The successes of graduate teaching assistants were also celebrated at the prize ceremony, with Asuka Kumon from the Department of Mathematics winning the Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award, and Katie O’Flynn from the Department of Physics being awarded the Claude Curling Prize for best tutorial assistant.

In light of the exceptional circumstances presented through the 2019/20 academic year, all staff nominated towards the King’s Education Awards were honoured with this accolade, in recognition of exemplary commitment and contribution towards inclusive education and student support.

Professor Bashir M. Al-Hashimi, Executive Dean of the Faculty of Natural & Mathematical Sciences, commented:

COVID-19 has made the last 12 months particularly challenging for everyone but the NMS prize-giving provides a welcome opportunity to celebrate our students’ achievements, exemplified by this year’s award winners. I offer my personal congratulations to all those receiving prizes this year and share my admiration for everything our NMS students have achieved in unprecedented circumstances.

Professor Bashir M. Al-Hashimi

Staff and students can view a full list of the faculty prize winners and King’s Education Award recipients on the King’s internal website.