Skip to main content

05 September 2022

Fifty SSPP academics awarded academic promotions

Congratulations to the 50 academics in the Faculty of Social Science & Public Policy who were awarded academic promotions during the 2021-22 year.

Image of flag with king's College London logo

Across the faculty there are nine new Professors, 18 new Readers and 23 new Senior Lecturers.

Congratulating them, Professor Linda McKie, Executive Dean of the Faculty of Social Science & Public Policy, said: “Our academics did extremely well in this round of promotions and had their achievements recognised, enabling them to advance onto the next stage in their careers. Their success demonstrates how colleagues are setting standards for achievements, impact, and innovation, as well as contributing to key disciplinary, policy, and practice developments. As a faculty, we are committed to supporting colleagues’ career development through annual reviews, advice, practical workshops and engaging with college and learned society opportunities.”

The full list of promotions is:


Dr Carlo Caduff, Professor of Anthropology and Global Health

Dr Robin Douglass, Professor of Political Theory

Dr Rob Francis, Professor of Urban Ecology and Society

Dr Humeira Iqtidar, Professor of Politics

Dr Hanna Kienzler, Professor of Anthropology and Global Health

Dr Heather King, Professor of Science Education

Dr Alexander Loftus, Professor of Political Ecology

Dr Naho Mirumachi, Professor of Environmental Politics

Dr Kenneth Payne, Professor of Military History and Air Power


Dr Andrew Brooks, Reader in Uneven Development

Dr Elisa Cavatorta, Reader in Economics

Dr Simon Coffey, Reader in Modern Foreign Languages Education

Dr Rod Dacombe, Reader in Politics

Dr Huw Dylan, Reader in Intelligence and International Security

Dr Christina Goulter, Reader in Military History and Air Power

Dr Aggie Hirst, Reader in International Relations Theory and Methods

Dr Craig Larkin, Reader in Middle East Politics and Peace and Conflict Studies

Dr Filippa Lentzos, Reader in Science and International Security

Dr David Morgan-Owen, Reader in the History of War

Dr Adnan Naseemullah, Reader in International Politics

Dr Julia Pearce, Reader in Social Psychology and Security Studies

Dr Anastasia Piliavsky, Reader in Anthropology and Politics

Dr David Reubi, Reader in Sociology and Global Health

Dr Roberto Roccu, Reader in International Political Economy

Dr Tim Stevens, Reader in International Security

Dr Adnan Vatansever, Reader in Russian Political Economy

Dr Mayssoun Sukarieh , Reader in International Development

Senior Lecturer

Dr Clyde Ancarno (Education, Communication & Society)

Dr Christine Barnes (Geography)

Dr Ingrid Bleynat (International Development)

Dr Billy Christmas (Political Economy)

Dr Mark Condos (War Studies)

Dr Maren Elfert (Education, Communication & Society)

Dr Marco Giani (Political Economy)

Dr Alexander Hitchens (War Studies)

Dr Nahee Kang (International Development)

Dr Peter Kemp (Education, Communication & Society)

Dr Hanna Kleider (Political Economy)

Dr Olivia Knapton (Education, Communication & Society)

Dr Natasha Kuhrt (War Studies)

Dr Karlygash Kuralbayeva (Political Economy)

Dr John Narayan (European & International Studies)

Dr Bence Nemeth (Defence Studies)

Dr Michelle Pentecost (Global Health & Social Medicine)

Dr Christina Richardson (Education, Communication & Society)

Dr Kelly Rose-Clarke (Global Health & Social Medicine)

Dr Marc Schelhase (Defence Studies)

Dr Olga Siemers (International School for Government)

Dr Emma Tebbs (Geography)

Dr Matia Vannoni (Political Economy)