Skip to main content

01 December 2017

Students & staff celebrated at NMS Annual Awards

Students and staff from across the Faculty were celebrated at the NMS Annual Prize-giving in the Great Hall on Wednesday 29 November 2017. We wish to congratulate all our staff and students who received an award.

NMS Annual Prize-giving programme
Annual Awards Programme

Prizes were awarded for top grades in examinations, projects & laboratory work, best poster, best research, excellence in practical chemistry, greatest improvement and most promising potential for research. Awards were made for contribution to life of the department, contribution to outreach activities and exceptional contribution to the academic progress of fellow students. The Spackman Prize was presented to winners of the mathematical competition and the Layton Science Research Awards were given not merely for success in passing examinations but for the best promise of aptitude and genius for original scientific work. Prizes were also awarded to cover costs for scientific conferences.

The Ada Lovelace Student Prize was awarded to Orla Mulvenna & Fatima Vayani from the Department of Physics and the Department of Informatics respectively, Faculty of Natural & Mathematical Sciences for making the strongest contribution to advancing gender equality within NMS disciplines. Both were nominated for their work with student societies in promoting the visibility and equality of women within STEM subjects through events, talks and engagement with other students and societies.

The Alan Flower Memorial Prize was awarded to Nicola Capacci, Department of Mathematics, as the joint honours student who has most distinguished themselves in the final year of the programme. The prize was founded in 1945 in memory of Alan Frederick Flower, a student of the faculty who was killed in 1942 while serving in the RAF.

There are also staff awards for Best Undergraduate project supervisor awarded to Dr Andrew Coles, Department of Informatics, nominated by their students in recognition of their work as a project supervisor and making the student experience at King’s the best it can be.

Best MSc Project Supervisor was awarded to Professor Mischa Dohler, Department of Informatics, nominated by their students in recognition of their work as a project supervisor and making the student experience at King’s the best it can be.

Outstanding Teaching Assistant Awards went to Georgia Orton, Department of Chemistry, Lorraine Ayad, Department of Informatics, Ritu Kundu, Department of Informatics, Kwok-Wing Tsoi, Department of Mathematics and Asuka Kumon, Department of Mathematics (runner up) nominated by undergraduate students nominate teaching assistants based on criteria such as engagement with students and making learning enjoyable, and this is supported by other feedback and observations from academic staff. The Faculty established this annual prize to recognise excellence and share good practice.

University-wide prizes were awarded and we are proud that students and staff from the Faculty of Natural and Mathematical Sciences were recognised in these awards.

The Jelf Medal was awarded to Toby Birkett, Department of Informatics and Saira Mughal, Department of Chemistry, who, in the view of the Principal, have most distinguished themselves during their undergraduate career in the university. In making the award, regard is given not only to the academic proficiency of the students, but also to their prominence in the social and athletic activities of the university.

Staff university-wide awards provide students with the opportunity to recognise teaching staff who have made a difference to their education at King’s. It is a student led competition and the nominations and comments from students are the key factors in deciding each year’s winners.

Teaching Excellence Award (Quality Feedback) was awarded to Dr Martin Chapman of the Department of Informatics, to recognise an individual who consistently provides timely, helpful and constructive feedback that is integral to supporting student development and learning.

Teaching Excellence Award (Student Support) was awarded to Professor Roger Morris of the Department of Chemistry, to recognise an individual (or groups) who frequently go the extra mile to support students, and are always open to offering help and guidance outside of their teaching responsibilities.

You can find the full list of awards and winners here.