Skip to main content

The Guy's and St. Thomas' Cataract and Corneal Research Group (GSTTCCR) is based at St. Thomas’ Hospital and led by Professor David O’Brart. Following on from the pioneering work by the Sir Harold Ridley, who implanted the world’ s first intraocular lens implant at St. Thomas’ Hospital in 1950, heralding the development of modern cataract surgery, and the development of the Excimer laser for Refractive and Corneal surgery in the 1990s by Professor John Marshall, we continue an extensive program of Cataract and Corneal research. Our research areas in recent years have focused on clinical research programs to improve the efficiency and outcomes of Cataract Surgery within the NHS and the investigation and optimization of corneal collagen cross linking to halt corneal ectatic disorders. We have conducted multiple randomized clinical trials and are considered a centre of excellence in the field of Cataract surgery and Keratoconus.

Group Members

  • Professor David O’Brart, Consultant Ophthalmic Surgeon and Professor of Corneal Medicine
  • Mani Bhogal, Consultant Ophthalmic Surgeon
  • Scott Robbie, Consultant Ophthalmic Surgeon
  • Vijay Wagh, Consultant Ophthalmic Surgeon
  • Sancy Low, Consultant Ophthalmic Surgeon
  • Seema Verma, Consultant Ophthalmic Surgeon
  • Elodie Azan, Consultant Ophthalmic Surgeon
  • Khayam Naderi, Clinical Research Fellow
  • Nicholas Stanojcic, Clinical Research Fellow
  • Harry Roberts, Past Clinical Research Fellow