Skip to main content
KBS_Icon_questionmark link-ico


School of Cardiovascular and Metabolic Medicine & Sciences: Development, Diversity & Inclusion

Mission statement

We champion Diversity and Inclusion across this School.

The School works with university-wide Diversity & Inclusion objectives. We are committed to creating an inclusive environment across our Sections that is fair to all, in line with the King’s Strategic Vision 2029

Diverse, but united.

This School celebrates the diversity of our employees and students. We work to encourage inclusivity, to make our School a better place. We do this by monitoring diversity, inclusion and wellbeing in the School, raising issues and lobbying to make changes for the future.

What are we doing? Collaborating across our Different sites and Sections, we aim to have representatives from different backgrounds, to represent all parts of our School. Some of our projects include:

  • Development Symposia: We hold Aspiring Leadership Symposia, aimed at ECRs and PhD students. A recent symposium featured ex-students from our School who now work in pharma/biotechs or publishing. The next one is planned for spring/summer 2022.
  • Identifying microaggressions: We surveyed the School to understand how microaggressions affect those in our School. We progressed to start to develop some short animations on microaggressions. We have published two videos tackling microaggressions, that are linked to bullying and harassment.We have made a short, animated video, this time concerning laboratory microaggressions. We have evidence that they occur within our Faculty and especially within the laboratory research environment.

    The video can be viewed via this link:
    To report a case click here:
  • Raising awareness: We aim raise awareness and make progress. Immediate projects include this website,  analysing PowerBi  data on identifying diversity gaps within the School and the academic environments.

Group lead


Susan Brain

School Lead DDI

Contact us

Please contact Susan Brain - DDI Committee Chair, or Dina Parekh - DDI Committee Administrator