Skip to main content

18 October 2022

FoDOCS periodontal researchers receive BSP awards

Dr Vitor Neves and Dr Varkha Rattu both received prestigious awards at the annual British Society of Periodontology and Implant Dentistry conference.

BSP Awards 2022 800x450
(l-r) Professor Mark Ide, Dr Vitor Neves, Professor Luigi Nibali & Dr Varkha Rattu

Two FoDOCS periodontal researchers have received prestigious awards at the recent British Society of Periodontology and Implant Dentistry (BSP) conference.

Dr Vitor Neves received the Sir Wilfred Fish Research Prize for his study on the use of metformin as adjunct in normoglycemic patients in periodontal therapy. The Sir Wilford Fish Prize is awarded annually to an early-career researcher who has made a significant contribution to basic, translational or clinical dental research.

I want to put the mouth back in the body. This awarded research aims on understanding how the enhancement of your systemic health can improve oral health outcomes, a question widely scarce in the literature.

Dr Vitor Neves

Dr Neves is Academic Clinical Lecturer and Periodontology Registrar within Periodontology and Periodontal Medicine in the Centre for Host-Microbiome Interactions.

The recipient of the BSP Systematic Review Prize was Dr Varkha Rattu for her work on stability endpoints before supportive therapy. The prize is awarded annually and recognises researchers in the early stages of their career.

It was an honour to win this BSP systematic review prize. However, it would not have been possible without Professor Nibali, Dr Devan Raindi and Dr Georgios Antonoglou who have been immensely supportive throughout.

Dr Varkha Rattu

Dr Rattu is a periodontology postgraduate student within the Centre for Host-Microbiome Interactions.

Congratulations to Dr Neves and Dr Rattu for these important awards, which recognise their hard work and the high-standard quality research in Periodontology in our Faculty. The congratulations should extend to their co-workers and collaborators and the Periodontology Unit in general, who have facilitated their research. We hope that these accomplishments can further stimulate their future academic careers.

Professor Luigi Nibali, Academic Lead and Director of the Postgraduate Periodontology Program

The BSP was founded in 1949 ‘to promote public and professional awareness of periodontology and implant dentistry to achieve our vision of “Periodontal Health For a Better Life”’. To reflect their commitment to progression and innovation, the BSP awards prizes for research into periodontology - both for undergraduate and postgraduate students - on an annual basis.