Skip to main content
KBS_Icon_questionmark link-ico
Heart ;

5 minutes with Tetiana Lunova

Tetiana Lunova is based in the School of Basic & Medical Biosciences, where she is investigating mechanisms, risk factors and response to treatment of Long-Covid. Prior to this study her research was focused on gender differences in cardiovascular disease. We took 5 minutes with Tetiana to learn more about her career and life outside of work.

Briefly, tell us about your background and career up to this point?

I am a physician by background and an MSc in Global Public Health and Policy. I am passionate about medical research and health promotion. I have a combination of experience in the HEIs, clinical medicine and public health sector. In 2019, I started a Ph.D. course and since then I have been investigating gender differences in cardiovascular disease. I have several publications in SCOPUS-indexed journals and already had a chance to present my research at the Congress of the European Society of Cardiology.

What do you think people in the School would find most surprising about you?

I used to be a professional singer. Since childhood, I have been taking vocal classes, participating in various singing competitions, and at a later age, I started singing in a music band:) It was just a hobby, though.

What advice would you give to your 18-year-old self?

Take care about your mental health. Don’t be too hard on yourself. Feel the fear, do it anyway.


Tetiana Lunova

Do you have any current projects that you’d like to tell us about?

A few years ago, I started a medical blog which has now reached 7k followers. The main aim of this blog is raising awareness about heart disease in women and sharing my knowledge of heart disease prevention and timely detection. The blog got exceedingly popular among people under 50 as I am writing about very important and often complicated things in a simple and accessible language.

Where do you see yourself in five years’ time?

I am hoping to make a career in research and, having gained enough knowledge and skills, contribute to public health initiatives in women’s cardiovascular health, cancer prevention, Long-COVID, etc. Apart from my career aspirations, I would like to travel more and explore places I have never seen, Australia, for example.

What is your proudest accomplishment?

In 2021, I won Chevening scholarship which eventually brought me to the UK. Chevening is one of the most highly competitive study grants funded by the British government, and only 1.5% of applicants make it to the final point. Chevening gave me an amazing network of contacts across the world and inspired me on further achievements.

What is your favourite thing about working at King’s?

The amount of support I get from my line manager and all other staff is outstanding. Everyone is so nice and welcoming. This is what I value the most at King’s- the amazing people that work here.


Favourite season:

Spring, especially when Sakura trees start to bloom. To me, London in the Spring is a masterpiece.

Favourite book:

“Poldark”, Winston Graham. A breath-taking story with a British character and interesting plot. Very inspirational. Highly recommend.

Favourite cuisine:

Italian, Georgian and Ukrainian.

Coffee order:

Vanilla latte in the Winter, chocolate frappucino in the Summer.

Latest news