Skip to main content
KBS_Icon_questionmark link-ico

King's Awards recognise IoP achievements

Exceptional achievements from staff at the Institute of Psychiatry (IoP), King’s College London have been recognised at the 7th annual King’s Award ceremony which took place on Wednesday 20 November in the Great Hall at the Strand Campus.

Established in 2007, the King’s Awards celebrate the outstanding achievements of the students, staff and alumni from across the College community. With over 19 categories this year, the IoP held nominations (submitted by staff and students) in 10 fields.

We are proud to announce the IoP won four King’s Awards; recognised for their accomplishments were: 

Professor Susan Lea and Richard Barnard, Education Hub project at the IoP

Most Outstanding Contribution to the Student Experience - sustained commitment to enriching the student experience and leading engagement, academic and extra-curricular activities which have a positive impact on student life.

IoP Athena SWAN Self-Assessment Team, IoP Women in Science Initiative 

Athena SWAN Award - leadership and support in advancing women in academia through positive action to remove progression barriers to progression; improving female representation in key College roles; promoting career development for female academics and raising the profile of female academics inside and outside the College.  

Professor Ulrike Schmidt, Head of the Section of Eating Disorders

College Supervisory Excellence Award - overall commitment to pastoral care including the engagement with the personal and professional development of supervisees.

MRC SGDP Birthday Committee, MRC SGDP Science Open Day

Most Outstanding Contribution to Public Engagement - recognised for their exceptional success in engaging the public.

(If this slideshow does not play in your web browser, please see the King's Flickr channel.)

Nominees from the IoP also included:

  • Dr Katerina Koutsantoni, Most Outstanding Contribution to Professional Services
  • Patrick Kinch, Most Outstanding Contribution to Professional Services
  • Professor Louise Howard, Investigator of the Year
  • Madeleine Oakley, Most Innovative Teacher
  • Dr Deirdre MacManus, Research Project of the Year
  • Professor Carmine Pariante, Media Personality of the Year
  • Christopher Webb, Most Significant Contribution to ICT

Professor Shitij Kapur, Dean and Head of School at the IoP said: “This year the King’s Awards received record nominations from the IoP. It is a testament to the outstanding work of both academic and professional services staff at the IoP that we were nominated in 10 of 19 categories. I would like to take this opportunity to congratulate the winners and our colleagues who had the honour of being short listed in this tough competition.”

Read about all the awards across King's