Skip to main content
KBS_Icon_questionmark link-ico

Eight IoPPN researchers win prestigious NIHR Awards

Eight researchers from the Institute of Psychiatry, Psychology & Neuroscience (IoPPN) have received NIHR (National Institute for Health Research) Senior Investigator awards.

Senior Investigators are among the most prominent and prestigious researchers funded by the NIHR and the most outstanding leaders of patient and people-based research within the NIHR Faculty. They are appointed through an annual competition informed by the advice of an international panel of experts.

The new appointments in March 2017 are:

Professor Philip Asherson
Professor Colin Drummond
Professor Peter Goadsby
Professor Philip McGuire
Professor Carmine Pariante
Professor Ulrike Schmidt
Professor John Strang
Professor Allan Young

Professor Patrick Leman, Executive Dean of the Institute of Psychiatry, Psychology & Neuroscience (IoPPN) at King’s College London, said: ‘I am thrilled that the NIHR has recognised the outstanding talent and leadership at the IoPPN. These awards, to some of the world’s most distinguished researchers in their fields, are thoroughly deserved. It is also very pleasing that of the 41 new awards this year, 11 come from King’s and eight from the IoPPN. A stellar achievement!'

Together, NIHR Senior Investigators constitute the College of Senior Investigators, a prestigious body with its own programme of events. Senior Investigators provide visible leadership within the NIHR, and also act as a key source of advice to the Department of Health's Chief Scientific Adviser.