Skip to main content
KBS_Icon_questionmark link-ico

Three researchers from IoPPN elected to prestigious Fellowship

Three researchers from King’s College London’s Institute of Psychiatry, Psychology & Neuroscience have been elected to the prestigious Fellowship of the Academy of Medical Sciences.

The newly elected Fellows are:

  • Professor Francesca Happé, Director of the MRC Social, Genetic and Developmental Psychiatry (SGDP) Centre, whose research focusses on understanding the social cognitive processes on autism spectrum conditions
  • Professor Matthew Hotopf, Director of the NIHR Maudsley Biomedical Research Centre, whose research explores the interaction between mental and physical health.
  • Professor Stephen Scott, Director of the National Academy for Parenting Research and head of the conduct problems, adoption and fostering team at the Maudsley Hospital.

Professors Happé, Hotopf, and Scott join 43 other leading researchers from across the UK who have been elected for their contribution to biomedical and health research, the generation of new knowledge in medical sciences and its translation into benefits to society.

Commenting on this year's Fellowship elections, Professor Sir Robert Lechler, President of the Academy of Medical Sciences said:

“As we elect new Fellows each year, the Academy continues to grow as a unique and productive hub of the best minds in UK medical science. Our expanding and evolving Fellowship allows the Academy to play a vital role in tackling the major health challenges facing society today and in the future.

The election of these 46 exceptional biomedical and health researchers is a well-deserved honour. Each newly elected Fellow has made an outstanding impact in the community, contributing to the development of better healthcare - from fundamental scientific understanding to the prevention, diagnosis and treatment of disease. I am delighted to welcome them to the Academy and greatly look forward to working with them all in the future.”

The new Fellows will be formally admitted to the Academy at a ceremony on 28 June 2017.