Skip to main content
KBS_Icon_questionmark link-ico

New fellows of King's College London

(l-r) Lord Geidt, Yvonne Coghill CBE, Jacqui Dyer MBE, Dame Til Wykes, Hussain Manawer and Professor Edward Byrne

Three professors from the Institute of Psychiatry, Psychology & Neuroscience (IoPPN) have been elected to the fellowship of King’s College London this year.

These professors are:

Dame Til Wykes DBE, Professor of Clinical Psychology & Rehabilitation and Vice-Dean for Psychology & Systems Sciences. She is a practising clinical psychologist and an international leader in understanding and advancing the rehabilitation and recovery of people with severe mental illness.

Dinesh Bhugra CBE, Emeritus Professor of Mental Health & Cultural Diversity. He is one of the best-known psychiatrists in the world and has raised the profile of psychiatry and psychiatrists across medicine both nationally and internationally.

Chris Shaw, Professor of Neurology & Neurogenetics. He is Head of the Department of Basic & Clinical Neuroscience, and Director of the Maurice Wohl Clinical Neuroscience Institute.

Of her fellowship, Professor Dame Til Wykes said, ‘I am delighted and, of course, honoured to be made a fellow of King’s College London. The awards have highlighted the importance King’s places on the impact on research, treatment and prevention of mental health problems in our community.’

Dame Til Wykes with Lord Geidt and Professor Edward Byrne

Professor Bhugra said, ‘I am deeply humbled to receive the King’s College London Fellowship following in the footsteps of so many great recipients. It’s always especially welcome to be honoured by one’s alma mater and institution. I am grateful to King’s and to Sir Simon Wessely for this recognition.’

Dinesh Fellowship Photo
Michael D'Souza, Dinesh Bhugra, Simon Wessely and Deborah Bull

Professor Shaw said, ‘After 24 years King's feels like family and being invited into the Fellowship is a very special recognition. I am grateful for the opportunity to express my passion for Neuroscience and support a new generation of King's researchers.’

Additionally, Yvonne Coghill CBEHussain Manawer and Councillor Jacqui Dyer MBE have been awarded Honorary Fellowships of King’s College London.

Yvonne 430x275

Yvonne Coghill CBE with Lord Geidt and Professor Edward Byrne

Yvonne is Director of Workforce Race Equality Standard Implementation for NHS England, and has made a lasting impact in the acute, mental health and primary care sectors, and in service delivery and improvement, organisational change, and leadership development. Hussain is a powerful campaigner for mental health, a poet whose work reaches world presidents, princesses, professors and prisoners. Most recently, Hussain collaborated with King’s (and Professor Dame Til Wykes) on Hussain’s House, UK's largest youth mental health festivalJacqui is a London Borough of Lambeth Councillor. Her advocacy for mental health and the concerns of the local Black and Minority Ethnic community reflect key aspects of King’s Strategic Vision 2029 and King’s Health Partners agenda, and make her an ideal ambassador for King’s.

Councillor Jacqui Dyer MBE with Lord Geidt and Professor Edward Byrne

Of his award, Hussain Manawar said, ‘I put my heart and soul into everything I do because the journey of my own mental health has been an adventurous one, I just don’t want anyone to ever feel alone. I am very grateful to King’s for recognising my work, this is a big deal I can’t lie!'

Hussain Manawer with Lord Geidt and Professor Edward Byrne

More than 4,200 King’s graduates attended the university’s ceremonies, held at Southwark Cathedral on 5 July and 6 July, and at the Barbican Centre on 23 July, 24 July, 25 July, 26 July and 27 July. Graduates were presented to Lord Geidt, Chairman of the College Council, and other members of the College Council, and to the President & Principal of King’s, Professor Edward Byrne AC, and to King’s Provosts and Vice-Presidents.

A full list of the 16 distinguished individuals to be elected to the fellowship or honorary fellowship of King’s College London this year can be found here.

The fellowship of King’s dates back to 1847 and marks contributions by exceptional individuals to King’s and/or to wider society. The fellowship is awarded to current or former staff or students or members of King’s Council, in recognition of their exceptional achievement and/or service to King’s. The honorary fellowship is awarded to individuals from outside King’s in recognition of their contribution to wider society.