Skip to main content
KBS_Icon_questionmark link-ico

Professor Elizabeth Bradbury honoured at Suffrage Science awards

Liz Bradbury 435x275
Professor Elizabeth Bradbury with Professor Catherina Becker (credit: MRC London Institute of Medical Sciences/Casey Gutteridge)

Elizabeth Bradbury, Professor of Regenerative Medicine & Neuroplasticity at the Institute of Psychiatry, Psychology & Neuroscience (IoPPN), has been recognised for her scientific leadership at the Suffrage Science awards. 

The awards celebrate women in science and awardees are nominated by previous holders for their scientific achievements and ability to inspire others. Professor Bradbury and 10 other female scientists from across the world were presented with hand-crafted jewellery at the awards ceremony held at the Academy of Medical Sciences in London on 6 June 2018.

Professor Catherina Becker from the University of Edinburgh, who nominated Professor Bradbury, said: ‘Liz has fundamentally shaped an important and long neglected area of her research field (extracellular matrix in spinal cord injury), she is a fantastic group leader and mentor, consistently contributing to science and science dissemination in this important field. A visible and inspirational female leader.’

Speaking about her nomination Professor Bradbury said: ‘This Suffrage Science award means a lot to me because it celebrates the achievements of women in science and also because of the personal nature of it being passed on from one female scientist to the next. Catherina is a strong and inspirational woman at the forefront of regenerative medicine research and to have received this award from one of my science idols makes it really special.’ 

‘I feel honoured to know that I will now be a link in this chain, which symbolises and celebrates the strong bonds and empowering networks we can create with our fellow female scientists. As Suffrage Science awardees I believe we should aim to harness the power and solidarity we have as a network to try and improve the future for women in science and to help the next generation to achieve their goals.’

Corinee Houart 430x275
Professor Corinne Houart and Professor Irene Miguel-Aliaga (credit: MRC London Institute of Medical Sciences/Casey Gutteridge)

A previous award holder from the IoPPN, Professor Corinne Houart, passed on her award to Professor Irene Miguel-Aliaga from the MRC London Institute of Medical Sciences.

The Suffrage Science scheme was initiated by Professor Dame Amanda Fisher, Director of the MRC London Institute of Medical Sciences in 2011. 

The awards themselves are heirloom items of jewellery commissioned from students of the art and design college, Central St Martins-UAL, who worked with scientists to create pieces inspired by research. The pieces also draw inspiration from the jewellery of the Suffragette movement from which the award scheme takes its name. 

Suffrage Science 430x275
Suffrage Science awardees with Vivienne Parry, Helen Pankhurst, Professor Dame Sally Davies and Dr Anna Zecharia (credit: MRC London Institute of Medical Sciences/Casey Gutteridge)



For further media information please contact: Robin Bisson, Senior Press Officer, Institute of Psychiatry, Psychology & Neuroscience, King’s College London, / +44 20 7848 5377 / +44 7718 697176.