Skip to main content
KBS_Icon_questionmark link-ico

2019 NIHR Senior Investigators appointments announced


Three academics from the Institute of Psychiatry, Psychology & Neuroscience (IoPPN) have been appointed to the National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) College of Senior Investigators for 2019. The appointees were named in the 12th round of the NIHR Senior Investigator competition. Of the three appointments, two are new appointments and one is a re-appointment for a second term.

The two new NIHR Senior Investigator appointments are:

  • Professor Louise Howard, Professor of Women's Mental Health at the IoPPN and Honorary Consultant Perinatal Psychiatrist at SLaM
  • Professor Ann McNeill, Professor of Tobacco Addiction, National Addiction Centre, Institute of Psychiatry, Psychology and Neuroscience (IoPPN) and Addictions CAG, South London and Maudsley NHS Foundation Trust (SLaM)

The NIHR Senior Investigator re-appointment is:

  • Professor Emily Simonoff, Head of the Department for Child and Adolescent Psychiatry and Professor of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, Child and Neurodevelopmental Disorders theme lead, NIHR Maudsley BRC

Senior Investigators are among the most prominent and prestigious researchers funded by the NIHR and the most outstanding leaders of patient and people-based research within the NIHR Faculty.

They are appointed from NIHR Investigators through an annual competition informed by the advice of an international panel of experts, and provide visible leadership within the NIHR. They also act as a key source of advice to the Department of Health & Social Care's Chief Scientific Adviser.

Professor Matthew Hotopf, Vice Dean Research at IoPPN said, ‘I would like to congratulate these three on their prestigious appointments. It is wonderful to see them being rightfully recognised for their outstanding contributions to clinical research.’

The IoPPN’s current or emeritus Senior Investigators at the IoPPN are:


Professors Philip AshersonColin DrummondPeter Goadsby, Matthew Hotopf, Louise HowardPhilip McGuireAnn McNeill, Carmine ParianteAndrew Pickles, Ulrike SchmidtEmily Simonoff, Robert Stewart, John Strang, Steven Williams and Allan Young.


Professors Philippa GaretyElizabeth KuipersSir Robin MurraySir Graham Thornicroft, Sir Simon Wessely and Dame Til Wykes

For further information on NIHR Senior Investigators, please visit here


For further media information please contact: Robin Maginn, Communications Officer, Institute of Psychiatry, Psychology & Neuroscience, King’s College London, / +44 20 7848 0063 / +44 074 6835 3067.