Skip to main content
KBS_Icon_questionmark link-ico

Samuel Coleridge-Taylor: Partsongs (2023)


SCT coverAmidst the explosion of choral writing in Britain at the turn of the twentieth century, Samuel Coleridge-Taylor's contribution to the all-important genre of partsong has long remained underappreciated.

The Choir of King's College London explore a selection of vivid settings of Romantic poetry from Britain and America, full of rich harmonies and poetic sensibility, inspired by subjects ranging from the exquisite beauty of nature to the Victorian fascination with death.

Featuring no fewer than seven premiere recordings in characteristically committed performances from Joseph Fort's singers, this album adds another piece to the jigsaw portrait of a composer who was a household name in his day and is once more coming into his own.





Buy the Samuel Coleridge-Taylor Partsongs CD (2023) 


Track Listing

1 Sea Drift * [6:25]

2 By the lone seashore [2:53]

3 Isle of Beauty * [2:42]

4 The Lee Shore [2:57]

5 Dead in the Sierras * [4:35]

6 Song of Proserpine * [2:29]

7 The Fair of Almachara * [5:14]

8 The Sea Shell [2:30]

9 All my stars forsake me [3:25]

10 The Evening Star [2:53]

11 Whispers of Summer * [3:46]

12 Summer is gone [2:52]

13 Requiescat [3:48]


Total playing time       [46:38]

Postage & Packing of CDs

Please note that we package and post on Mondays and Wednesdays in term time ONLY, and on most Mondays outside of term. Please email us at to check before you purchase to avoid disappointment.