Skip to main content
KBS_Icon_questionmark link-ico

Three King's pharmacy professors recognised as professional role models

Three professors in King’s Institute of Pharmaceutical Science have been recognised as Royal Pharmaceutical Society Faculty Fellows, after the first cohort of Faculty members was named last week.

Professors Peter Hylands, Jayne Lawrence and Graham Davies were each named as RPS Faculty Fellows, in recognition of their status as advanced pharmacy practitioners.

There are three membership stages in the RPS Faculty. Applicants are assessed on their professional development portfolios, alongside peer-review and credentialing. Faculty Fellows (FFRPS) are recognised as ‘demonstrat(ing) the highest level of practice, often with an international reputation or evidence of development of our profession, innovation in their area of practice, reputable contribution to the knowledge and evidence base needed to provide the highest quality patient care, whatever their role.’

The RPS’s website states: ‘One thing most of the (Faculty members) have in common is a desire to be leaders: to use their recognised status as experts to help their more junior colleagues develop their practice, or to further the profession as a whole.’

Members and fellows of the Royal Pharmaceutical Society have been invited to submit their portfolios for assessment. Of the 75 individuals who did so in the first wave of assessments, 58 were recognised as belonging to the Faculty fellowship stage.  Members come from a variety of backgrounds including education, regulation and public affairs, and community, primary care and hospital sectors.