Skip to main content
KBS_Icon_questionmark link-ico

New Year's Honours for Faculty staff

The Faculty of Life Sciences & Medicine is delighted to announce that two of its staff have been recognised in the 2016 New Year’s Honours list.

Professor David Cowan, Professor of Pharmaceutical Toxicology and Director of the Drug Control Centre at King's, has received an OBE for his services to anti-doping science.

Professor Cowan co-founded the Drug Control Centre in 1978, and became its Director in 1990. He has served on a number of national and international committees including the Council of Europe Working Party investigating Drug Abuse in Sport that led to the first World Anti-Doping Convention. Professor Cowan was a founding member of the World Association of Anti-Doping Scientists and became its first President serving on its executive board between 2001 and 2004. In 2013, he received the Pharmaceutical Scientist of the Year Award from the Royal Pharmaceutical Society for his outstanding contribution to pharmaceutical science in leading the anti-doping project for the London 2012 Olympic and Paralympic Games.

Professor Kim Wolff, Professor of Addiction Science in the Institute of Pharmaceutical Science, has received a MBE for public service to road safety.

Professor Wolff, an advisor for the government drug drive policy, led the independent panel which produced the Department for Transport Expert Drug-Driving Report in 2013. The report outlined a series of recommendations on which drugs listed in the Misuse of Drugs Act (1971) should be included in regulations for the new drug-driving offence.

From the wider university, Professor Til Wykes, Vice-Dean of Psychology and Systems Science and Professor of Clinical Psychology and Rehabilitation, has been awarded a damehood for services to Clinical Psychology.

The New Year Honours lists recognise the achievements of a wide range of people from across the UK. More information and the full New Year's Honours list for 2016 can be found here.