Skip to main content

31 August 2022

NMES academic promotions

New readers and senior lecturers in NMES


Congratulations to colleagues from the Faculty of Natural, Mathematical & Engineering Sciences who have been promoted to the positions of Reader and Senior Lecturer. This is testament to their excellence in research and education in their subject areas.


Dr John Armstrong (Mathematics)

Dr Rita Borgo (Informatics)

Dr Wayne Dickson (Physics)

Dr Christopher McCabe (Physics)

Dr Manuel Müller (Chemistry) - Proleptic Reader

Dr Mohammad Reza Nakhai (Engineering)

Dr Odinaldo Rodrigues (Informatics)


Senior Lecturer

Dr Oya Celiktutan  (Engineering)

Dr Blanka Horvath (Mathematics)

Dr Steve Lester (Mathematics)

Dr Yijing Li (Informatics)

Dr Izaak Neri (Mathematics)

Dr Aliaksandra Rakovich (Physics)

Dr Eamonn Reading (Chemistry)

Dr Petr Slovak (Informatics)

Dr Furqaan Yusaf (Physics)

Dr Amelle Zaïr (Physics)


Commenting on the latest promotion round, Professor Bashir M. Al-Hashimi, Executive Dean of the Faculty of Natural, Mathematical & Engineering Sciences, said:

“I am proud that colleagues from all five of our departments have been successful in meeting the university’s rigorous promotions criteria, demonstrating academic excellence. My congratulations and thanks to each of them.”

In this story

Bashir M. Al-Hashimi

Vice President (Research & Innovation)

John Armstrong

Reader in Financial Mathematics

Rita Borgo

Head of Human Centred Computing Group

Wayne Dickson

Reader in Experimental Nanophotonics

Christopher McCabe

Reader in Physics

Manuel Müller

Reader in Chemical Biology

Mohammad Reza Nakhai

Reader in Telecommunications

Odinaldo Rodrigues

Reader in Artificial Intelligence

Oya Celiktutan

Senior Lecturer in Engineering (Robotics)

Steve Lester

Reader in Number Theory

Yijing Li

AEP Senior Lecturer in Urban Informatics

Izaak Neri

Senior Lecturer in Disordered Systems

Petr Slovak

Senior Lecturer

Furqaan Yusaf

Senior Lecturer

Amelle Zaïr

Senior Lecturer