Skip to main content
KBS_Icon_questionmark link-ico

Neurological Impairment Scale (NIS)

The Neurological Impairment Scale (NIS) is a scale to measure impairment in the context of a broad range of neurological conditions, including acquired brain injury.  

It comprises 13 items in four principal domains:

  • Physical
  • Cognitive
  • Communicative
  • Behavioural

It is a standardised assessment which was designed originally to form part of the minimum dataset for the UK Functional Assessment Measure (UK FIM+FAM), in order to control differences in case-mix and interpretation of functional gains across different populations 


  • The NIS forms part of the toolset within the UK Rehabilitation Outcomes Collaborative (UK ROC) national clinical registry for specialist rehabilitation since 2012.
  • Within the dataset, it is applied as an indicator of severity of impairment.


The UK ROC software collates NIS alongside the other UK ROC measures of need, input and outcome. It is built on Microsoft Excel and is freely available from the UK ROC website.


Contact us

For further information or copies of the NIS or UK ROC Guide and Software, please contact:

+44 020 8869 5161