Skip to main content
KBS_Icon_questionmark link-ico

College Education Committee

The College Education Committee (CEC) is the committee of Academic Board responsible for ensuring that the academic provision for all programmes is of the highest possible standard. It formulates, approves and monitors policy and strategy for admissions, learning, teaching, supervision, student welfare and quality enhancement.

The Committee is chaired by the Vice-Principal (Education). The terms of reference, membership, frequency of meetings and conduct of business can be found in here. For further information please contact the secretary.

Meeting dates 2022-2023

College Education Committee meeting dates 2022-2023

 Date Time and location

 Wednesday, 12 October 2022

 14:00 – 16:00, TBC

 Wednesday, 16 November 2022

 14:00 – 16:00, TBC

 Wednesday, 1 February 2023

 14:00 – 16:00, TBC

 Wednesday, 22 March 2023

 14:00 – 16:00, TBC

Wednesday, 24 May 2023

 14:00 – 16:00, TBC

Wednesday, 5 July 2023

 14:00 – 16:00, TBC

The College Education Committee reports to Academic Board and is supported by the following sub-committees:

The members* of the College Education Commitee are:

Secretary - Eirona Morgan (maternity cover)

*membership will be reviewed/updated for 2022/23.

College Education Committee members


 Membership 2021/22

Chair, Vice President & Vice-Principal (Education & Student Success)

Professor Adam Fagan

Deputy Chair, nominated by the Vice President and Vice-Principal (Education) from amongst the members of the Committee

 Darren Wallis

  Faculty Members: (one Faculty Member and one alternate per Faculty)

 Arts & Humanities 


Dr Helen Brookman


Pro Vice-Dean (Academic Portfolio)

 Dental, Oral & Craniofacial Sciences 


Professor Kim Piper



 Dickson Poon School of Law


Professor Paul James Cardwell



 King's Business School


Professor Sally Everett


Dr Claire Wardell

Life Sciences & Medicine: Bioscience Education


Professor Helen Collins


Dr Deena Gibbons

Medical Education


Professor Claire Sharpe (interim)/ Professor Nicki Cohen (interim) 



Natural, Mathematical & Engineering Sciences



Professor Michael Kölling


Professor Samjid Mannan

Nursing, Midwifery & Palliative Care


Professor Mary Malone



Institute of Psychiatry, Psychology & Neuroscience


Professor Juliet Foster


Dr Cathy Fernandes

Social Science & Public Policy


Professor Rachel Kerr


Dr Robert Francis

School of Professional & Continuing Education (formerly King’s Education)


Nina McDermott


Dr Ana Sousa Aguiar de Medeiros/

Chris Green

Ex-Officio Members:


Senior Vice President (Academic) 

Professor Rachel Mills

Vice President (Global Engagement)

Professor ‘Funmi Olonisakin

Vice President (Research)

Professor Reza Razavi

Executive Director, Students & Education 

Darren Wallis

Digital Education Academic Lead

Professor Kyle Dyer

Postgraduate Taught Lead

Dr Jaqualyn Moore

Chair of the Academic Standards Sub-Committee (ASSC)

Anette Schroeder-Rossell

Chair of the Collaborative Provision Sub-Committee (CPSC)

Lynne Barker

Chair of the Programme Development and Approval Sub-Committee (PDASC)

Professor Adam Fagan

Director, Library & Collections

Elisabeth Hannon

Strategic Programmes Director, Education & Students

Sarah Jillings

Strategic Director, Education & Students

Joy Whyte

Strategic Director, Education & Students

Liv Roberts

KCLSU: (unreserved business only)

KCLSU President or nominee 

Mohd Yasir Khan (2022-2023)

KCLSU Vice-President for Education (Arts & Sciences)

Sarah Osman Saeed (2022-2023)

KCLSU Vice-President for Education (Health Schools)

Julia Kosowska (2022-2023)

KCLSU Vice-President for Postgraduate

Shagun Bha (2022-2023)

In attendance: 

Associate Director (Academic Regulations & Policy Compliance)

Kathryn Connor

Associate Director, Education Transformation

Dr Rebecca Browett – maternity cover Syreeta Allen

Associate Director, King's Academy

Lauren Cracknell

Head of CTEL/Education Solutions, CTEL

James Toner

Director, King’s Online

Nick Worthington

Director of Brand & Marketing

Helen Litvak

College Secretary

Irene Birrell

Three Associate Directors (Education) - one from Arts & Sciences & one from the Health Faculties + PACE

Other officers of the College may also be permitted by the Chair to attend the College Education Committee either permanently or for particular meetings, along with those presenting papers to the Committee at specific meetings.


Project Manager (SPO)

Eirona Morgan