Skip to main content
KBS_Icon_questionmark link-ico



The Senior Leadership Team provides the strategic direction and focus for the Institute of Psychiatry, Psychology & Neuroscience.

Led by the Executive Dean, Professor Ian Everall, supported by the Dean of Education, Faculty Operating Officer, Vice Dean (Research), Vice Dean (International), Vice Dean (Diversity & Inclusion), Divisional Vice Deans and Heads of Department.

Executive Dean: Professor Ian Everall

Professor Ian Everall is Executive Dean of the IoPPN. He has been at the forefront of research into cellular, molecular and genetic changes in the brain in major psychiatric disorders for over 20 years.
He was formally Cato Chair of Psychiatry and Head of the Department of Psychiatry at the University of Melbourne. He trained in psychiatry at the Bethlem Royal and Maudsley Hospitals. He obtained his PhD in 1992 and in 1993 was appointed Senior Lecturer at the Institute of Psychiatry and Honorary Consultant Psychiatrist at The Maudsley Hospital. In 1999 he was appointed Professor of Experimental Neuropathology at the Institute of Psychiatry and then in 2004 he became Professor of Psychiatry at the University of California, San Diego.

Ian Everall Feature 800x430

Faculty Operating Officer: Richard Barnard

Richard Barnard is Faculty Operating Officer. He is also joint Denmark Hill Campus Dean. He is responsible for the faculty professional services functions including Education Support Team, Press & Communications, Health & Safety, Diversity & Inclusion, Research & Development and the faculty Deanery. Working with the Executive Dean he provides leadership and oversees strategy, planning, faculty resources and the day to day running of the faculty.

Richard Barnard Feature 800x430

Dean of Education: Dr Juliet Foster

Dr Juliet Foster is a social psychologist whose work focuses on public understandings of heath problems, and in particular of mental health. She draws on theories from sociocultural psychology and is an important part of the international community of scholars working on social representations theory. She is the academic lead for King’s College London on student mental health and well-being. Juliet is the Chair of the Education and Training Board of the British Psychological Society, and an Associate Editor of both Papers on Social Representations and Psychology, Public Policy and Law.


Vice Dean (Psychology & Systems Sciences): Professor Dame Til Wykes

Professor Dame Til Wykes is Vice Dean for Psychology and Systems Sciences at the IoPPN. She is Professor of Clinical Psychology and Rehabilitation at King’s College London, and she edits the Journal of Mental Health.

Til Wykes Feature 800x430

Vice Dean (Neuroscience): Professor Mark Richardson

Professor Mark Richardson is the Vice Dean for Neuroscience at the IoPPN. He is both a practicing neurologist, regularly holding epilepsy clinics at King’s College Hospital, as well as a research team leader, running a lab whose focus is on understanding the mechanisms of epilepsy using multi-modal brain imaging approaches.

Mark Richardson Feature 800x430

Vice Dean (Academic Psychiatry): Professor Allan Young

Professor Allan Young is Interim Vice Dean for Academic Psychiatry at the IoPPN. He is Professor of Mood Disorders, and holds the Chair of Mood Disorders. He is also the Director of the Centre for Affective Disorders within the Department of Psychological Medicine and is an Honorary Consultant with the South London and Maudsley NHS Foundation Trust.

Allan Young Feature 800x430

Vice Dean (International): Professor Paola Dazzan

Paola Dazzan is Professor of Neurobiology of Psychosis and has additional responsibility for international partnerships. Her main area of interest is the application of brain imaging to the study of the early stages of psychosis, and the relationship between brain, other biological risk factors for psychosis, and the biological effects of antipsychotics.

Paola Dazzan Feature 800x430

Vice Dean (Research): Professor Matthew Hotopf CBE

Matthew Hotopf is Vice Dean of Research at the Institute of Psychiatry Psychology and Neuroscience. He is a Professor of General Hospital Psychiatry, a consultant liaison psychiatrist and is also Director of the South London and Maudsley NHS Foundation Trust National Institute of Health Research Biomedical Research Centre (BRC). His main area of research is in the grey area between medicine and psychiatry, exploring the interaction between mental and physical health.

Matthew Hotopf Feature 800x430

Vice Dean (Culture, Diversity & Inclusion): Professor Ann McNeill

Professor Ann McNeill is Vice Dean (Culture, Diversity & Inclusion). She is Professor of Tobacco Addiction, and also IoPPN Self-Assessment Team Co-Chair. Ann has led a number of executive level initiatives to improve the gender balance and culture of decision making in Senior IoPPN Committees. She believes an essential part of her role is enthusing, engaging and nurturing new and early career researchers and that building a diverse research workforce is critically important for success.

Ann McNeill Feature 800x430

Heads of Department

  • Professor Sir John Strang logo

    Professor Sir John Strang

    Addictions Department

  • Professor Emily Simonoff logo

    Professor Emily Simonoff

    Department of Child & Adolescent Psychiatry

  • Professor Declan Murphy logo

    Professor Declan Murphy

    Department of Forensic & Neurodevelopmental Science

  • Professor Dag Aarsland logo

    Professor Dag Aarsland

    Department of Old Age Psychiatry

  • Professor Ulrike Schmidt logo

    Professor Ulrike Schmidt

    Department of Psychological Medicine

  • Professor Philip McGuire logo

    Professor Philip McGuire

    Department of Psychosis Studies

  • Professor Ammar Al-Chalabi logo

    Professor Ammar Al-Chalabi

    Department of Basic & Clinical Neuroscience

  • Professor Oscar Marin logo

    Professor Oscar Marin

    Department of Developmental Neurobiology

  • Professor Marzia Malcangio logo

    Professor Marzia Malcangio

    Wolfson Centre for Age-Related Diseases

  • Professor Steve Williams logo

    Professor Steve Williams

    Department of Neuroimaging

  • Professor Rona Moss-Morris logo

    Professor Rona Moss-Morris

    Department of Psychology

  • Professor Craig Morgan logo

    Professor Craig Morgan

    Health Service and Population Research Department

  • Professor Cathryn Lewis logo

    Professor Cathryn Lewis

    Social, Genetic & Developmental Psychiatry Centre

  • Professor Richard Dobson logo

    Professor Richard Dobson

    Biostatistics & Health Informatics Department

About the IoPPN

About us

About us

The Institute of Psychiatry, Psychology & Neuroscience is a world leader for education and research…

Our divisions

Our divisions

Our three major divisions of Academic Psychiatry, Psychology & Systems Sciences, and Neuroscience…

Work for us

Work for us

Find out more about working for the Institute of Psychiatry, Psychology & Neuroscience



Find out more about the cutting-edge and world class research facilities we hold at the IoPPN, from…

Study at King’s

Sign up for further information

Receive email updates about our courses, events, fees and funding, studying in London, how to apply and more.

Sign up